We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool local place that was pretty busy so make a reservation first!”
Review of Yang Chow

Yang Chow
Ranked #67 of 10,091 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Winkhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cool local place that was pretty busy so make a reservation first!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was local to our motel (Jerry's - also reviewed) and a quick cab ride to chinatown after reading the reviews on here. We ordered the Slippery shrimp, lo mein, dumplings and spring rolls all lovely. Waited about 20 mins but food was worth it. The place was packed on a Sunday evening but we’d expected that from the reviews on TA, so were not surprised. We got to take some home as the portions were pretty big too. All the other food dishes I saw being sent to tables looked awesome and large too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    96
    31
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our Christmas Eve tradition-SFV location”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Don't pass on the Slippery Shrimp or dried green beans...YUM. We also love the Kung pao Chicken here. Lovely people...with tons of funky atmosphere. Don't forget to book ahead on holidays...this is our go to take out for Chinese.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mexicobeachmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“When in Los Angeles you've gotta come and eat here!!! A celebration of flavor for your taste buds”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Two words, SLIPPERY SHRIMP!!! Wow-WEEE!!! That's what my taste buds were saying. I enjoyed the three flavor sizzling rice soup the slippery shrimp needless to say, the green beans with minced chicken, the yang chow fried rice, well let's put it this way, there's nothing in this place that I Don't absolutely love!! If you come to Los Angeles and you don't come to Yang Chow's you are truly missing out On a flavor explosion for your taste buds!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JESUS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dinner date with the hubby”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to this location for way over 20 yrs. I introduced this location to my husband 12 yrs. Ago and now he won't go anywhere else to eat Chinese. Atmosphere is good the food is delicious. The only negative is once you finish it seems like they rush you out. If you go for dinner make sure you call ahead and make a reservation-

Helpful?
1 Thank MARTHA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitimat-Stikine District, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Food Ever”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We loved this place. Not fancy, but fabulous food. Well worth a visit. We were lucky enough to get seated quickly, service was great and if you like movie stars there is a good chance you'll see one here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank snowbunny58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yang Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing