We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi, affordable, friendly”
Review of Noshi Sushi

Noshi Sushi
Ranked #1,540 of 10,090 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Park City
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great sushi, affordable, friendly”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have been going to Noshi Sushi for a very long time. I have never broken the bank and the sushi is always fresh and well presented. We generally sit at the chef's counter and love watching the guys working. They are all long time chefs with Noshi Sushi and most often remember us even when we haven't been in for a while. Whenever we go back to visit in LA, we come by for a fix. Consistently, their Uni is the best and freshest. It is a fit dessert to a great meal. Be prepared, they don't take credit cards.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UtahSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Noshi: a sushi reference point”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family and I have been going to Noshi since the mid 80's when it was a smaller restaurant just a block down Beverly Blvd. It was enormously popular back then, too. In fact, due to it's smaller size, an hour wait was common in the evenings.

Most of the original sushi chefs have been working there until recently; most notably Sasumi may have retired recently. Noshi used to carry a very limited menu (no aji or halibut fun, for example), but in the last five years expanded their menu to include quite a few more items, which is greatly appreciated.

Their sea urchin, currently at 5.50 an order, is perhaps the lowest priced in the LA area. Try to avoid urchin from June to August, as it can turn funky in the warmer months. However it is usually excellent in the cooler seasons. Noshi is also famous for it's sashimi, especially yellowtail sashimi. They didn't used to distinguish yellowtail toro from regular yellowtail, but now they do. Also Noshi's spicy tuna rolls are superb, and at 3.00 for a spicy tuna cut roll, one of the best deals in town. Freshness is almost always excellent, but quality and size of the cut can vary somewhat from one sushi chef to another. (inside tip -- the guys on the east and west side of the bar are usually the best, IMHO.)

The hot green tea is terrific, the gari is of the yellow variety, and wasabi seems quite authentic -- never like play-doh. One caveat: I have never been thrilled with the quality of noshi's ikura, probably due to their supplier.

One of the most important things about Noshi is they are open all day, generally from 1130am to 9pm, incl Saturdays and Sundays, which is unusual. So they not only serve a fantastic lunch, but you can order all afternoon, which is just great for sushi sleuths.

Noshi is a reference point against which other sushi bars in the LA area must be judged. For price, freshness, and quality of service, I am hard pressed to find a sushi bar I like better, and I know quite a few of them in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic and fresh”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Friends recommended this place, and they were not wrong. Fast service, amazing food, and an old-school atmosphere. We had to stop ourselves from ordering more after we finished each round. :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Yes, Great No”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The seafood was fresh and tasty, but the presentation was not great. I had the sashimi, and it was sliced really thick, put on a plate with little presentation then served with a bowl of warm rice. I thought it was moderately priced, and the service was acceptable.

Helpful?
Thank Rcbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Fresh Great SUSHI without breaking the bank”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Cash Only Sushi Bar-large bar with lots of chairs and lots of tables. Got here by 5 pm on a Friday-sat at the Sushi bar. Quick service-miso soup served w/out asking. Simple sushi-great tasting-Albacore about $4-Aji Sushi- $4.50-rolls,tempera appetizers were generous.
Places to park in back in the parking lot-
Excellent fresh tasting sushi made in front of you for very affordable prices. Water refilled often.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noshi Sushi also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Noshi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing