We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.”

The Original Pantry
Ranked #43 of 9,898 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

LOVED this place. We waited outside for a bit for a table, but we hit it right at the breakfast rush. The prices were incredibly reasonable, even cheap. Service was quick, but very good, and we didn't wait long for the incredible food. Both the pancakes and french toast were incredible. My husband says they might be the best pancakes he's ever had! And, the portions are HUGE! We had a long day planned ahead of us and didn't want to have to stop to eat lunch until about 4, and we didn't need to after eating that huge breakfast. The feel of the place is excellent as well. It obviously hasn't changed much in the 60 odd years it's been there, including the fact that they only take cash. There were a few tourists there like us, but there were also a lot of locals. We will definitely go back the next time we're in LA.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lbfa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    215
    80
    35
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
344 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Back to the 50's for a fun meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were leaving LA later in the morning and walked to The Original Pantry at 5:30 AM local time. The streets felt very safe walking from our hotel. Once we got to the Original Pantry we were greeted, seated, and immediately brought coffee. There were a few locals in the place. The menu is on the wall, and has a pretty large variety of breakfasts to choose from. The helpings are huge, so you will not leave hungry. The prices are very good, too. Our coffee was kept filled, and our waiter made sure we were satisfied. The place is very clean, which added to the overall experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSUmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This is one of those diners that have been around forever and never loose their appeal. Simple menu, fast service, huge portions and hearty meals, even the outdated decor becomes part of its charm.

Helpful?
Thank Daniella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willows, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This place has a really fun, old fashioned atmosphere and the service was fast and friendly. It is open 24/7, too. The breakfast was amazing, huge portions and so delicious. Everything was cooked just right! If you like old fashioned diners, you'll love this place. They looked to have really good, homemade pies and cake, too. The price was very reasonable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargieP460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The counter brings back memories”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This place brings back memories of the counter diners you found commonly back in the day. It's a fun experience. The food is average though. If you are expecting a great food experience you will probably be disappointed. It's worth experiencing at least once if you are in LA.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DolphG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Pantry also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to The Original Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing