We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They do chicken right”

Roscoe's House of Chicken & Waffles
Ranked #61 of 10,091 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Hollywood
Tarrytown, NY
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“They do chicken right”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were figuring out where to eat not too far from the Griffith Observatory that was also kid friendly. Roscoe's popped up and it was a no-brainer.
We had plenty of company, but it was a nice night to wait a half hour or so for a table. Once inside, the service got cranking, and the chicken started coming. As for the star attraction, most of what I ate was perfectly moist, the skin had just enough crunchy goodness with enough spice to make it distinctive without overwhelming the meat. Part of one piece of white meat was a little overdone, but the other parts I sampled were spot on.
Be careful about not over-ordering. First, the prices aren't cheap. Fair might be a better way to put it, especially in Hollywood. But the half chicken was enormous. Combined with two ample and delicious waffles for $18 and you'll leave more than full. At the same time there was a special of a thigh and leg for just $6, an excellent value.
What didn't fall into that category were the sides. Disappointing, especially for a restaurant that boasts it was voted to have the best mac 'n' cheese in L.A. It was decent, but at $5 for basically an ice cream scoop's worth, you want and deserve more. And that's the only way to order the mac; you can't order it as an entrée and it's not offered as a side with chicken platters. The same for the addictive greens.
Still, this is a go-to place for good reason. If you don't need a scene or need to be seen, but just want a very good, honest meal, then Roscoe's is ready to welcome.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank murrayhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    226
    96
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Food - Awesome Service!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We took a group of 8 developmentally disabled adults to Roscoe's for dinner. The staff was super friendly and accommodating and they got us right in and seated together. The food - as always - was absolutely delicious!! I don't think you can have a bad meal at Roscoe's.

The only complaint is that there is a big step down from the old Roscoe's to the expanded dining room - no ramp. One of our clients misjudged the step and fell down! She was okay, but shaken up and embarrassed. From that moment on we had to escort each of our clients to the rest room and walk them down the step. It was especially challenging for our client in the walker. The hostess was especially sympathetic and said that several people had tripped down the steps over the years. She said she has tried to get the management to fix it, but they have not. :(

Aside from the treacherous step, it was a fabulous experience!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellengruetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“First meal on arrival”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Cliche but gotta have it. Perfect ending to a day spent flying from the east coast. Waffles and awesome fried chicken. What else is there to say.

Helpful?
Thank judedude79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't miss this !!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have heard of Roscoe's before but let me say once you eat here you will find a reason to go back. the Chicken is cooked to perfection and the waffles melt in your mouth. if I say any more I will be on a plane going back. if in town you GOTTA go.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank willie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Life changing”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We are canadian, and you can't get anything like this in Canada. I recommend ordering your chicken "smothered" with gravy. Goes surprisingly well with waffles and syrup. If there is a lineup, stay in line. It moves fast and it's SO worth it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank agifford14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roscoe's House of Chicken & Waffles also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Roscoe's House of Chicken & Waffles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing