We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No dips in the morning”

Philippe the Original
Get food delivered
Ranked #3 of 383 Quick Bites in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Deli, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Description: Philippe the Original opened its doors to Los Angelenos back in 1908 and is credited with inventing the French Dip Sandwich. Since the creation of the French Dip, Philippe's has served the classic dish along with popular sides including, potato salad, coleslaw, beef stew and chili. Still owned and operated by the same family since the 1920's, Philippe's celebrated their 110th Anniversary in 2018 - being the oldest continually operating restaurant in Los Angeles!
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

I could not believe that they dont have dips in the early am. Very disappointing. Only had couple of hours to leave to airport and no shot at this samdwich. The staff was very friendly and professional breakfast was i guess ok.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank GaetanoC1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 827 of 2,206 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

餐厅在联合广场斜对角,Chinatown的边缘,提供两处停车场。
中午去的时候非常火爆,几条队伍都排到了门口。不是一家有情调的餐厅,但感觉是家地道的LA风味餐厅,有很多local来用餐。地上洒满木屑,有长桌高脚凳,餐厅很大但比较嘈杂,用餐位很多但人与人间的距离较窄。
菜品选择不多,Beef/Pork/Lamb dip Sandwich,还分single dip,double dip和wet。配菜有各种沙拉,腌渍过的鸡蛋(见隔壁阿姨买了8个腌渍成紫粉色的蛋,然而我没有勇气尝试)。House Salad是小时候肯德基菜丝沙拉的味道。三明治很棒,我选的Beef Dip,里面类似五香牛肉的感觉。桌子上有mustard和黑胡椒可以自行添加。

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank fafac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

This is a great place to experience the LA scene. Located close to China Town and the China Town Station - fantastic pre-game experience!

It is wonderful to see the locals enjoy their favorite foods and try them too!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JennandCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Grew up with Philippe's being a PERK to go and have their sandwiches. Took my husband for his first visit recently and again after all these years, you still know how to make the BEST French dip sandwich.

My only issue was that I forgot to buy some of your amazing mustard to take home with me. Next trip!!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Philippe's should be on everyone's "bucket list." My favorite, double dipped pork sandwich, cole slaw and lemon meringue pie. My mom loved the picked eggs. Sawdust on the floor, family style seating. You will see movie stars, theater goers, sports fans with their jerseys all sitting enjoying. This is an experience you will want to have more than once.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patti E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philippe the Original also viewed

 

Been to Philippe the Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.