We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent $50, Ate Everything, Did Not Like”

Philippe the Original
Get food delivered
Ranked #3 of 383 Quick Bites in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Deli, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Description: Philippe the Original opened its doors to Los Angelenos back in 1908 and is credited with inventing the French Dip Sandwich. Since the creation of the French Dip, Philippe's has served the classic dish along with popular sides including, potato salad, coleslaw, beef stew and chili. Still owned and operated by the same family since the 1920's, Philippe's celebrated their 110th Anniversary in 2018 - being the oldest continually operating restaurant in Los Angeles!
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Place is garbage, food taste horrible. If you used to food with flavor do NOT go here. - Ethnic Reviewer

The sandwiches had no condiments on them, the bread wasn't even toasted, flies were swinging around the densely packed long line of patrons. The spot plays itself up as historic but no one I have ever met brags about this place. The food is terrible, I ate everything on the menu and was left in disbelief that it was all bad.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank michaeldH9828PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

852 - 856 of 2,206 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2016

The French Dip Sandwich was said to invented here.. and the space exudes history... so come and stand in line.. get the beef one.. and make sure you use the hot mustard on every table.. cash only... and fresh simple beer on tap... and be part of history..

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 266jerryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

This place is fantastic. Had the pastrami and the beef double dip. Both were fantastic. Come on a weekday to beat the crowds.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016

I'm not a big fan of the French dip sandwiches although I have had them and they are good, just not my thing. I was with family who knew they served breakfast so in we went. It was good, not great, just average breakfast. You have to order at the counter and wait for your food, they do not serve you at your table. If you have never been here or seen it on tv, yes, there is sawdust all over the floor. It's supposed to be there, just go with it. The lines are long at lunch time for sandwiches but it was not bad for breakfast. I prefer to go down the street to Olvera Street for taquitos.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Littlegto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Accessible on foot from DT LA this place looks cool + serves amazing food and drinks. Had a beef sandwich and a NY pastrami sandwich with a $.45 coffee! Philippe keeps a traditional look and vibe and seems to attract a wide range of guests, which we loved. 10/10

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philippe the Original also viewed

 

Been to Philippe the Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.