We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Local Flavor”
Review of El Tepeyac

El Tepeyac
Ranked #162 of 10,030 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Frisco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Flavor”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I’ve been eating at El Tepeyac for over 25 years now. When living in LA and going to school in East LA, I would frequent here regularly. Over the years having moved away from LA, this is consistently a place that I meet friends, bring new friends, and go to with family. It’s on my list of my visit places in the SoCal area because it’s consistently delicious, a very good value, and it fun when Manny is out talking to us in line while we wait. If there are 2 or 3 of us, we might share the Hollenbeck burrito. With 3 or 4, we share the Manuel Special burrito. A side of guacamole is always a good add-on and comes in a giant bowl for all to share. There is no alcohol here but that’s ok with me. The food is so good and there is always a line that no alcohol means more of us can enjoy the food. If you are in LA, treat yourself to a local meal here at El Tepeyac. It’s only a short drive from downtown and a few blocks of I-10 in East LA. It’s worth it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuniorBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    50
    13
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“AWESOME MEXICAN FOOD!!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hubby & I ate here during our recent visit to L.A. & it is the best authentic Mexican food we've ever had!! It's small & not very appealing to the eye from the outside but you really must go here if you want excellent Mexican cuisine. We had to stand outside & wait for a table but it is worth the wait!! Wonderful service too!!! No wonder it was on "Man vs Food"!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank florenceyall39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oley!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

With Mexican food so same ol' same ol' wherever you go, this place really stands out. It's fantastic! Why do we have to go the East side? Open one in West LA.

Helpful?
Thank 583Tom_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Burritos Anywhere!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had to wait for it outside, but once we were in and seated, the food and service were marvelous. Well worth the trip . . . from Saudi Arabia . . . to enjoy Manuel's magic burritos.

Arrive hungry. Portions were big.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food but getting a bit pricey”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have been a fan of Manuel's (El Tepeyac) for over 30 years. Every time I come back to the west coast I make it point to stop in and get my Mexican food fix. I enjoy everything on their menu from their beef enchilada, machaca burritos, taquitos, tacos, etc. The food is still great the only thing that has changed is that their prices continue to outpace inflation. This use to be an affordable place to feed your family, sadly not any more.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROCKAWAYOKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tepeyac also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to El Tepeyac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing