We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sammys at LAX- to miss” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sammy's Woodfire Pizza

Sammy's Woodfire Pizza
Ranked #1,023 of 9,848 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sammys at LAX- to miss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

After an early arrival at LAX Airport - a meal was needed
At 05.45 - only coffee available - 8 or more staff on duty...... finally opened at 06.10
Ordered Drinks and food - arrived quite quickly and we now know why
1. Muffin with cold bacon and tepid scrambled eggs and a bowl of swimming melon in what??
2. 2 eggs over medium - hot - with iced cold bacon - nice but cool potato grits

A terrible breakfast - and my wife needed tablets later for you know what

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    20
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milldale,CT
1 review
“The Manager needs to go.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The manager tell some customers they are closed and then seats some others.

How are you closed at 10:00pm in an Airport????

LAX needs new restaurant to take its place.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank akom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
228 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Food, Slow Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

There aren't too many options besides Burger King, this place, Starbucks or Chili's to eat at LAX in the AA terminal. As we weren't feeling the other places, we tried Sammy's.

When we arrived, there was quite a wait. About 20 minutes in total. Given how slow the service was, I think the wait was a reflection of their inability to turn tables.

As I mentioned, the service was slow. So slow that it took 10-15 minutes to get the check.

When the food and drink arrived, it arrived as we asked. The pizza which we both ordered tasted superb.

If they would clean up their service issues, this place would be a go to spot. If you are in a hurry, then don't bother.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Greek Salad -- Unbeatable Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I ordered the Greek salad and sat across from someone else who ordered a different salad. In a word, we were both blown away. I had been traveling in Chile, where I had indifferent food, and has seen the over-priced menus at Lima's airport -- though I did experience some excellent food experiences over a week in Pasadena, CA. But back to Sammy's: The Greek salad was huge, very tasty, and at $11.20 (plus tax) a definite bargain. I compared it with a less tasty but good Greek salad of one-third the size in my home of Northern Virginia that costs about $7. I just eyed the pizza here. It looked OK but I couldn't really tell and I was so intent on enjoying very last taste of my salad that I didn't much have eyes for pizza. If you have to wait for a plane, this is a great experience, but be sure to come hungry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 60726Nicky_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Who would expect great pizza in an airport?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

There are only so many times you can eat at Burger King in LAX. So we decided to try Sammy's. It was great. The service was a bit slow, but very friendly. We ordered a pizza and a salad. It was a bit odd that the pizza came out first, but it was as good as any brick oven pizza. Even though the greek salad came out a bit later, it was very good and very fresh. It was also large enough to split.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brentp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Woodfire Pizza also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Sammy's Woodfire Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing