We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pies cool vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of House of Pies

House of Pies
Ranked #20 of 230 Dessert in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pies cool vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went here for the first time, we had heard how good it was and it was really good. Sunday morning was busy but worth the wait. It's a smaller coffee shop but very relaxed and comfortable,
the food was priced well and a lot of it is from scratch, I had corn beef hash and it was great. The pies are very good. The bathrooms are even groovy. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykatpurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
324 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Pies are legendary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This place has an amazing selection of pies and they are all very delicious. I've probably tried out all their pies over the years and it never disappoints. Other food is average; nothing special but not bad either. The staff is very friendly and the prices are considerable cheap and affordable. The place is more like a diner than a restaurant but a very pleasant one. If you're in the neighborhood and have a sweet tooth, make sure to try one of their pies out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Seda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Blueberry Cheesecake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Besides wonderful breakfast and dinners, I love their Salmon dish. Their blueberry cheesecake is totally freaking amazing and awesome. Always looking forward to it every time when I go there to eat. Definitely recommend the blueberry cheesecake.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hiketilludrop3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really Good Pies!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We ate here after going to Griffith Observatory. It was around 9:30PM. Service was kinda slow. Food was average. But the PIES were REALLY GOOD! We had a slice at the restaurant and ended up taking home a whole pie!!! I agree with what the other reviews say... go only for the pies... great place to have dessert after dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I swoon over the Los Feliz Benedict!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I agree with the other reviewer about the Los Feliz Benedict! The turkey and avocado are excellent substitutions for Canadian bacon--healthier for you, too. The Hollandaise sauce is made fresh in-house and is very rich and creamy.Two servings are served on the platter but I can often only eat one before I get full. Delicious, crispy hash browns are served on the plate as well; this yummy addition helps to sop up the Hollandaise and egg yolk, making them delightfully tasteful.

Another delicious delight at House of Pies is their Monte Cristo sandwich. Again, the portion they serve of this is unbelievable and I often have to take half of it home.

As for the pies? I often order a pumpkin and apple for Thanksgiving, but ones that I've enjoyed throughout the rest of the year are their Strawberry Pie (when in season), French Silk (so light, creamy, and delicious) and the most phenomenal pie I think I've ever had in my entire life: Chocolate Banana Cream Pie!! I mean, this pie is unbelievable and completely indescribable, folks!! It's just something you have to experience for yourselves!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graydonpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Pies also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to House of Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing