We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soul Food”
Review of Harold and Belle's

Harold and Belle's
Reserve with OpenTable
Harold and Belle's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #657 of 10,036 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 10th Avenue
Description: Harold & Belle"s is Los Angeles's premiere Creole dining experience. Family owned and operated for over 40 years, the restaurant has received numerous awards for its southern style cooking. Specialties include File Gumbo, Crawfish Etouffee, Jambalaya, and Fried Seafood. Come hungry because Harold & Belle's is known for serving up generous portions. A full bar is also available as well as mouthwatering desserts such as Louisiana Bread Pudding and Peach Cobbler.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Soul Food”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The best southern food I have had in a long time. You can't choose a better place. Fish is excellent just the way mom made it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank saw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still Great”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

As we sat trying to think of a good seafood restaurant, many choices came to mind but only one stood out - Harold & Belles. Tucked away, north of the Crenshaw district, is probably the best (that's right - the best) New Orleans restaurant in Los Angeles. A bit pricey but when you see the amounts served, you forget the price. When you taste the food, you forget you're in LA.

The soft shell crab ($32) is simply something to die for. The entire menu will have you coming back for more. Most entrees range from $20-$25 with appetizers running a lot cheaper.

Valet parking is a highly recommended as well as reservations. They're open for lunch or dinner. For dinner, I suggest you get there early.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LA-Gluttony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“CREOLE CUISINE YUM”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Everything I have had on the menu is totally delish! Especially their wings. It does get crowded and the wait is long, so call ahead and make reservations.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisaizhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have been a regular customer of Harold and Belle's for the past twenty years. I have always rated the restaurant very high. However, after ordering a seafood platter tonight I noticed that the restaurant has cut the serving of fish and shrimp considerably. Previously, a seafood platter would be enough food for my husband, son and myself. The small portion that was given tonight was barely enough for my husband and I. When I contacted the restaurant I was told that they are now serving red snapper strips. Which means that the four regular size snapper that was previously given in the order is now two pieces cut into fourths. I understand inflation, however I would prefer paying a bit more for the large serving previously offered, rather than paying the same price for an extremely small order. The food remains very tasty, however the value is terrible. Hardly worth the $33.00 price that is charged. I don't plan to patronize the restaurant again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cassandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Creole in heart of LA.”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in before heading to the airport one Sunday morning. We had place to ourselves since apparently the regular clientele were at a jazz festival. Gumbo Glight was excellent, especially the crab/chicken/andouille/okra. Had combo jambalaya & red beans & the allowed me to get the blackened catfish instead of the fried as listed. Good but not outstanding. Nevertheless I highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwesi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harold and Belle's also viewed

 

Been to Harold and Belle's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing