We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Katsu-Ya-best sushi in LA”
Review of Sushi Katsu-ya

Sushi Katsu-ya
Ranked #218 of 9,953 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Universal City Area
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Katsu-Ya-best sushi in LA”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

best sushi in LA: Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna; creamy rock shrimp tempura; Honey Roll; Yellowtail w/ Jalaeno; oyster spoon; Garlic Albacore + Truffles

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dryury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    25
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Studio City, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Consistently Great”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I go here regularly, and have never had a bad meal. Sit at the sushi bar, though - it's a much better experience than at the tables.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great quality, but not going back”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have many more complaints than anything. They were busy, however, the service was horrible, the menu does not have pictures or even detailed descriptions. There is not a big selection. The prices are too high and the chefs are not friendly. They don't seem to care much about the customer. The only good thing I could say is the fish itself tasted great, but most of their selections were not creative at all, just basic. Most of their clientele was Japanese which made me think... that is who they are marketing to and really only want to serve.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mblock65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Sit at the bar!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We sat at the Bar to enjoy dinner and it was great. Made me come out of my "sushi eating" comfort zone and I ordered something different after watching the chefs make all these different types of sushi. It was all Delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mimiu444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Best Sushi”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I went to the location on Ventura Blvd and ate at the sushi bar. It was the best sushi, very fresh and flavorful. The service was quick and the pricing was great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Katsu-ya also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Sushi Katsu-ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing