We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
The Great Greek Restaurant and Taverna
Ranked #669 of 9,785 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Universal City Area
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“OOOPA!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

4th of July 2013---not very full, BUT, very good.
Avgolemono soup & spanakopita to start---GF had Shrimp a la Greque I had rack of baby lamb just simply good. Retsina for me, GF took a house Cab reasonable price-good.

Espresso & Galaktobur dessert-----yummy
Andreas server --good
Good is good-ain't brain surgery

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
250 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Terrific Greek Food in the Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had a great lunch at The Great Greek. The avgolemolo soup was some of the best I've had anywhere, lots of chicken & vegetables and not over salted. The Greek salad was really light and fresh and full of the traditional goodies. The gyros was moist, well seasoned and full of meat and ripe tomatoes. The lamb souvlaki was tender and delicious. The fresh bread and olive oil was also very simple and very very good.

The service was attentive and just right.

All in all, an outstanding meal and a great reason to return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foosh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Greek is fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The atmosphere, service and food were all top notch. We were in Santorini last year for our anniversary and L.A. this year, so decided to try this Greek restaurant. It was a superb.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 58livinlavidaloca77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
361 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Greek food at its finest.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Began with babaganoish and hummus. The pita bread was hot and fresh. The lamb kabobs with rice and vegetables was very tasty. The chicken kabobs were also very well made. The blue Mediterranean salad was great. My salmon with steamed vegetables was equally as good. I would recommend this restaurant when you are in Sherman Oaks, California.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Re27k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lots of food, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The "world famous" Great Greek is located next to the "World Famous" liquor store on "World Famous" Ventura Boulevard in "World Famous" Studio City. Perhaps they're all too famous for their own good, because the Great Greek is merely good Greek food.

Upside: easy street parking, really nice service, and live greek music. Huge portions and fairly reasonable prices, and the salads are very tasty.

Downside: some of the food tasted like it was cooked in one of those large cafeteria pans that afternoon and was sitting in a steam table waiting for you to order it. Nothing really came across as particularly fresh and tasty, which is odd because greek food is typically really delicious. The salad was good, but you have to pay extra for pita bread to enjoy the hummus and other saucy specialties.

We ended up walking out very full, but not particularly happy, so I doubt we'd ever go back. However, if you love a lot of food and favor vegetarian options, this might be a good place for you.

Everyone is very nice there, but there was nothing about the food that would entice me to return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank groovology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Greek Restaurant and Taverna also viewed

 

Been to The Great Greek Restaurant and Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing