We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese in the Valley”
Review of Bamboo Cuisine

Bamboo Cuisine
Ranked #1,603 of 9,954 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in the Valley”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a five star Chinese restaurant. It has a great atmosphere. The service is friendly and fast and the food...? Generally excellent. Definitely a step above most any other Chinese restaurant in the area. The menu is quite extensive, and you can specify any particular changes to a dish to suit your needs. The booths are close together, but if you prefer privacy, you can always get a table off to the side or in a corner. They accept large parties and even have a private room for special occasions. All in all, the best in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
277 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Wonderful, fresh, high quality food in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I took clients to dinner here a few nights ago and they were uneasy because (as I found out after dinner) they normally do not eat Chinese food. I usually do not eat it either because it is so often wet and salty. That said, Bamboo is an upscale Chinese restaurant with the best Chinese food we have ever had in Los Angeles. The food is beautifully presented and delicious, obviously everything is fresh and made to order. We shared a very generous amount of delicious steamed dumplings that came in a bamboo steamer basket with a sweet/savory sauce on the side. My client's raved about how good they were. We also had the Chinese chicken salad, that had red ginger piled on top with excellent dressing, the lemon chicken, very good egg rolls and amazing mu shu pork. They ordered a scallion pancake, that looked like a quesadilla, but was a bit tough to chew. We shared green tea ice cream for dessert. The restaurant has many beautiful sculptures throughout and the staff was very pleasant. My client's said they loved it, and I agree!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“New York Chinese Style”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Bamboo is the oldest and best Chinese restaurant in the Valley. Family style with great fresh ingredients; so do not expect a Mr Chow of Beverly Hills. Always busy and always good. We always order roast pork slices, and their sticky buns as appetizers along with fried shrimp. The lettuce cups are perfect followed by the Moo Shu pork. Our favorite dish is the shrimp with broccoli and crisp rice in a black bean sauce. The most exciting entree is the Singapore curry noodles which goes great with anything. Take out is fast, hot and very speedy delivery so either way you cannot go wrong. Valet parking is in the back of the restaurant and makes parking easy. Bamboo is not inexpensive but the quality far exceeds anything in the valley. About $20 to $25 per person family style. Portions are generous and service is smart. The bar and drinks are actually well prepared rare for a Chinese restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
297 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Busy, very good food, cooked properly!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived by car ( there is scant parking on the street on the weekend) and ventured in. It was busy and not having a reservation ( recommended) we waited about 15 minutes. The table was OK, and the decor, Asian, and not overdone. We had a cold glass of water in 1 minute, and the waiter was by in < 5 minutes. We had to defer, having not decided on our choices. Put in our order and our meal was ~ 20 minutes? I had a glass of wine while waiting. Our meal arrived, one plate, then a minute later 2, and so on. It was hot and tasty. It was very palatable and the service was excellent. It was reasonably priced for the excellent food.

Cheers,

Britishcanadianeh

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Britishcanadianeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sweet & Pungent Shrimp”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I come here all the time with friends from work. We always order the sweet and pungent shrimp which is delicious. They do a nice moo goo gai pan, chicken and cashews and beef with broc. Service is good and even the parking attendant behind the restaurant is very nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Cuisine also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Bamboo Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing