We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS GOOD FOOD & SERVICE”
Review of Mel's Drive-In

Mel's Drive-In
Ranked #1,198 of 10,030 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Neighborhood: Hollywood
Big Bear Lake, California
Level 6 Contributor
697 reviews
488 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“ALWAYS GOOD FOOD & SERVICE”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I regularly go to this restaurant and the food is always good. Chris is by far the best waiter at the restaurant and they do a good job of remembering regulars and the types of food they like. The parking lot is a little small and finding parking can be a little difficult when the restaurant is busy. All told, it is a good place to grab a bite to eat and the prices are pretty good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Good food, nice waiters and right in the middle of lots of fun during the academy award preparation.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank FriendlyFords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly, close to downtown walk of fame”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We liked it, quick and friendly service, our food was good, and we could walk to Kodak Theatre, Chinese Theatre, Walk of Fame, El Capitan, and it is connected to the Hollywood Museum.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffBransford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Fun Authentic 50's Diner Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We ate here a few times during a 10 day stay in LA from our initial late night arrival at midnight to a early morning breakfast. Our party had varying eating concerns (vegetarian, low sodium, etc.). but Mel's staff was terrific in accommodating our special issues. My son loved their fresh, made to order thick milkshakes and omelets filled with whatever you could think of and more with a side of sweet potato fries. Others loved their french toast and amazing burgers. Personally I flipped over their Arugula Salad with roasted asparagus, homemade salsa and topped with two sunny side up eggs and toast on the side. Our waitress recommended it and after some convincing, I ordered it. OMG... it was AMAZING - a comfort food salad!!

They have several locations and I highly recommend that you check this restaurant out!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buffalodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Bad Service, Ok Food, Cool buser/chef”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were staying at the Andez and were walking down the street and decided to stop here I'm kind of a history nerd and Mel's has a pretty good history. We went in and the greeter was a real nice girl and it ended up stinking because she was the waitress in section right behind us. Our waitress was this middle aged lady who was super spaced out and kinda looked under the influence. She greeted us with the, "What do you want", it was shocking what server does that? This gem proceeded to take our order and was gone, we each ended up getting warm smoothies mine and pretty average burgers which were delivered by the chef who was cooking them and also appeared to be the guy bussing tables to. He was a pretty friendly guy. The waitress shows up about 20 minutes later to drop the check. I was pretty angry because the waitress behind us the one who greeted us was telling her tables where to go and what to do. So i attempted to ask our server who stated oh she didn't know she was only out here to become an actress. This was it for me I never have done this before or again but I wrote a note on a check to give her tip to the cook/busser. I still use this awesome server is my worst server ever story your absolute LA sterotype server, trust me an actress can act good enough to protract money from my pocket. I can't give a one star because this individual did not represent all the workers but was our experience and I'd never go back.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irish311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Mel's Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing