We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average sushi, average place, pricy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kifune Sushi Bar

Kifune Sushi Bar
Ranked #820 of 9,898 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Venice
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average sushi, average place, pricy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner with a friend there. We both had a sushi mix which was ok but nothing more. The place itself I did not like much but this is personal taste.
To sum up I can say that the food was definitely to pricy for what we've got. There are for sure better places for sushi in LA!

Helpful?
Thank Puertoberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“some of the best sushi in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'm drivin across town (from Hollywood) for sushi @ Kifune, the experience can be very different, depending on the sushi chef of the evening, ask for specials !!! trust the chef !!! and make sure there's enough beer and wine for the guys BEHIND the sushi bar, I highly recommend the sushi bar as it's always very entertaining to sit there, lot's of regulars and locals

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank climax56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
161 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not Bad But Only One Around”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a fairly adequate restaurant with a sushi bar and tables. They have weekly lunch specials. For a beach restaurant, it is more than fine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoctorRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great tasting and fresh Japanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything I ordered was fantastic. The sashimi was excellent, the sushi (smelt egg with quail egg) was as good as I have ever had. The tempura was cooked to perfection and was delicious. The only thing I didn't like was what my friend ordered a sushi that said customer favorite spicy tuna with jalapeño on I think it was fried rice or toast I couldn't tell. It was horrible. The smoked salmon sushi was incredible and almost removed all memory of the customer favorite. The staff was really friendly and helpful. A truly wonderful experience. I will definitely return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuterC0nsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great local sushi place - Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Kifune is a local Japanese restaurant in the Venice/MDR area, only a couple of blocks from the Venice Pier and the beach. Excellent sushi, and great suhi bar. Full of friendly locals and some visitors from nearby Marina del Rey hotels, which makes for a very lively and fun sushi bar experience. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlua001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kifune Sushi Bar also viewed

Marina del Rey, CA
 
Marina del Rey, CA
 
Marina del Rey, CA
 

Been to Kifune Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing