We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Service and atmosphere are just Ok. Crowded place in The Farmers Market/ Grove.”
Review of Ulysses Voyage

Ulysses Voyage
Ranked #675 of 9,953 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central L.A
colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food! Service and atmosphere are just Ok. Crowded place in The Farmers Market/ Grove.”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a nice place overall, just always crowded and the atmosphere isn't really genuine Greek. Calamari is good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greecelightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    35
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a little slice of Greece at the stylish Grove”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I has a wonderful afternoon of shopping at The Grove, which is super stylish and a joy, when I came upon a little Greek Meze restaurant. Being Greek i was instantly drawn to it. Paul, my waiter, was so great about making me feel really cosy even though I was dining alone. He made great recommendations and always came by to chat to me. He then seated 2 wonderful guys near my table and we all started chatting, eating and drinking together. Jason, a tv star in the making, also works there so made a great effort to let me know what was fabulous on the menu. You must have the saganaki which is drenched in ouzo, the grilled octopus, the fava beans, actually everything was great.
I would definitely go back. Any place that can make you feel that welcome as a solo traveller is fantastic.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SydneyAmalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“First time for fried smelts”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The waiter told me to go for it. My wife is Greek, she went for it and I shared. As the waiter said, "it's a taste of the Mediterrennean " Well everyone knows those folks live long so why not. But they are an acquired taste what with little eyes and tails and all. I don't usually do eyes but if you don't look too closely, they are like eating french fries, ....from the sea. Not great but not bad. A Greek staple. Gotta be good for you with all that omega 3.
This is a good, friendly, authentic Greek place with pleasant indoor and even more pleasant outdoor seating much like a Greek sidewalk cafe. It's at The Grove so there is a lot of passing action to watch.
I think some evenings have a live guitarist or some kind of music. I look forward to returning, if not for the smelts, for the lamb.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacksmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza
Level Contributor
152 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good option of greek food”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The atmosphere, music and views are a plus to take into consideration to choose this restaurant. However the food have not a plus over other restaurants of the same type, excluding the entrees which are very good; for instance, the flamed Cheese is an excellent alternative.
The available space between tables is very reduced and may improve.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank epin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great People Watching!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Ulysses Voyage is a fantastic neighborhood restaurant. Even though it is right in the middle of one of the biggest tourist attractions in LA (The Farmer's Market/Grove) they still manage to make you feel at home.
The service is always friendly and attentive. The food is 9 times out of 10 just right. (On my last visit the Lemon Chicken was a bit dry but i forgave them).
The seafood salad is tremendous! The hummus is deee-lish...and the warm pita is soft and yummy.
If you sit on the patio, the people-watching is beyond fun & hilarious. The Grove gets all sorts of folks visiting LA and they do not disappoint. Even if you sit inside, doors are wide open and you feel like you are dining outside.
I highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldie800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulysses Voyage also viewed

 

Been to Ulysses Voyage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing