We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME AUTHENTIC INDIAN CUISINE”
Review of East India Grill

East India Grill
Ranked #1,896 of 9,980 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Description: The best indian restaurant in los angeles. Order our food for pickup/Delivery - powered by Clorder
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“AWESOME AUTHENTIC INDIAN CUISINE”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Craving for Indian food made us do some serious on-line research during our stay in downtown LA. Went to this place following out gut feeling .

Bingo we were in for a Indian feast ..........

Food was sumptuous and authentic . Mr Naveen the owner took special care to cater to our need .

Butter garlic Naan with butter chicken and bhuna ghost , awesome. must try .

Place is easy to find on the main street with parking meter close by , so no worries about that .

Nothing fancy about the restaurant , just good Indian food made us more than happy .

Must visit for Indian food .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rohit27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic Punjabi food”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I took an unplanned stop at this place, not expecting much. Went with the regular tikka masala and garlic naan. To my surprise, this was among the better Indian food I had in sometime. spices were perfect, Naan was so perfectly baked with right garlic topping (this is tough to get).
I repeated the same dish the other day as well, and I surely know now, where to go when I am visiting LA next,
only issue is - finding a parking during peak hours, as the street doesnt allow road side parking before 7pm

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lalit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience. Very good food, the service was excellent and the price was fair. I really recommend it!!! Delicious!!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“My Favorate Indian Take Out Place”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

East India Grill is my go-to place for great Indian Take out. Yummy food at reasonable prices, and the service is fast and friendly. Love their chicken tiki Marsala (although sometimes it could use a bit more chicken.) Great aloo gobi and perfect nann, and be sure to try the black dall. You can eat in the restaurant too, but don't expect a lot of ambiance. It's by no means a dump, but it's not somewhere you would want to take a first date. If you do decide to eat at the restaurant check Groupon for a fantastic 50% off deal -- the Groupon won't work for delivery though. If you love Indian food, and who doesn't -- you'll be very happy with your meal. By far my favorite Indian place in the Mid-City area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
304 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was my first time going to this restaurant and I will definitely return. I ordered the chicken vindaloo on the 3 course meal and my husband had the chicken tikka masala. Both dishes were delicious and the meal came with garlic naan and a salad. The only problem was that the white wine was not chilled; however, after a few minutes in the ice bucket, that problem was resolved. The service was excellent without being intrusive and the prices are reasonable. If you like Indian food, you can't go wrong with this restaurant. There is street parking so depending upon what time you go, it might be a bit of an issue finding a parking spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ibaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East India Grill also viewed

 

Been to East India Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing