We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and dignified”
Review of Clafoutis - CLOSED

Clafoutis
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Description: Welcome to Le Clafoutis, located in the center of Sunset Plaza in West Hollywood. Order our food online -Powered By Clorder
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and dignified”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food was exquisite the service superb and it was ultimately affordable. We encountered a troubled street person as we were seated outside. The lead waiter outside treated him with the respect, and the security guard decompressed what could have been a scene. I took my daughter back the next day!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kampol and Euge... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta del Este, Maldonado, Uruguay
Level Contributor
268 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“One of the badest hamburgers”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant on the Sunset Boulevard looks pretty nice and was very crowded. But the hamburger we got was really one of the badest. First it cames carbonized and was bitter. The second one was dry. The calf liver was to much cooked. I wanted it rear... and the vegetables were al dente. Thanks I have good dents... The atmosphere and the service are ok, but not more... and 100 USD to much for that

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cristiansuiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Taste of France in West Hollywood”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Fantastic french restaurant in the heart of west Los Angeles. Frank greeted me asked what i was interested in having and did not do a hard sell; i was drawn to the menu and the pleasant greeting. My server was knowledgable about the menu and the preparation. I ordered the potato encrusted halibut setting atop asparagus and sautéed mushrooms in a tarragon sauce. With the first bite i was transported back to the arrondissements of Paris! The fusion of various flavors and spices enticed me to lick the plate but that is not a classy look in public. I chose the house made Napoleon for desert because i never met a Napoleon that did not call me by name. The thin sliced fresh apple tart was a close runner up.

If you cannot travel to Paris, while in Los Angeles you MUST visit this restaurant. Great food, great service, reasonable price, with a warm and inviting atmosphere. This restaurant is a winner!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deveroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worst meal had in West Hollywood area”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

A less than half full restaurant, at 8.40pm should have warned of the impending experience. A 10 minute wait after being seated, without being asked if we would like a drink, once questioned, the 3 course meal was rushed out and over within 45 mins.

Extremely poor service, and table was cleared constantly after a glass was finished or cutlery put down, even though others were still waiting.

A still frozen profiteroles dessert, made with ice cream, a COLD Irish coffee, and Calypso coffee, followed by indigestion meant this was a bad experience from start to finish, I would recommend this place is given a wide berth. The food served wasn't in itself too bad, but the service was the worst I've experienced.

There are many other good restaurants in the area, without subjecting ourself to this.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penheale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow motion French restaurant”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

A nice French restaurant on the Sunset boulevard. A modest menu. Very slow service. Although it was 4.00 pm and no one in the restaurant , the ordered meals were serviced in more than half an hour and even the bill has come in 20 minutes. Could be much better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yasar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clafoutis also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing