We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great product - cute location”
Review of Sweet Lady Jane

Sweet Lady Jane
Ranked #9 of 177 Bakeries in Los Angeles
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: West Hollywood
Description: Sweet Lady Jane serves wonderful desserts, which range from cheesecakes, cookies, cupcakes, pies, tarts, brownies, lemon bars, to a delicious range of layer cakes made for all occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries and weddings. We serve lunch from 11:30am-2:30pm daily. Our soups, salads, sandwiches and bread is freshly made every day. We serve coffee using French press coffee pots and have a full selection of herbal and regular black teas. Every day at Sweet Lady Jane we produce true works of cake art that create unforgettable memories. Our masterful cake designers can tackle virtually any request. We use the finest and freshest ingredients in order to get our desserts moist and not overly sweet. We have constantly been rated one of the top bakeries in LA by numerous publications. If you would like to make an appointment to discuss your custom order, please call us at one of our two locations, 323-653-7145 (West Hollywood) or 310-254-9499 (Santa Monica). Our customers are also always welcome to come view our books of cake designs at the bakery for more inspiration. Allow us to help make a special impact on your most important occasions.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
341 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great product - cute location”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a great bakery. They are really well known for the beautiful cakes but their chalah is worth mentioning.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingworkingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    48
    18
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
238 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“One of the Strangest Cappuccino's I've Ever Had”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We read about this coffee shop/bakery in a little booklet at our rental home. We love an afternoon coffee break after sight-seeing so off we went. We opted to sit indoors because the outdoor seating was on busy Melrose Ave. With it's cute iron table and chairs It was inviting but a little noisy. My two nieces were served their coffee from a French Press brought to the table. I had one of the strangest Cappuccino's I've ever had, mostly all foam. I could see the coffee way in the bottom and kept stirring to melt the foam but no luck. However, the foam was tasty. We shared a delicious chocolate cake but there were many desserts to choose from. A very nice shop and we're glad we went.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yumaborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The Holy Grail for cake lovers!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have been coming here for years and this is a must stop if you re in LA. The cakes are wonderful but so are the fruit pies. You can also take a small table inside or out and enjoy coffee, tea or a light snack. If they have the Sicilian wedding cake you must try a slice

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PierrePS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SWEET and SPECTACULAR”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Sweet Lady Jane makes extraordinary desserts. I have worked with them on behalf of my Wedding Clients who want a very special wedding cake that isn't Overly Sweet....I especially love the fresh berry cake with fresh whipped creme..OH MY!
You can stop in for a dessert or order to go. And for Weddings..One of the very very best.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago do Cacem, Portugal
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You better run a 5k after this one”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

What a sweet place to refill your calories to a sky rocket level. :) we went for the mixed berries pie (a must try), apple pie, walnut brownies and a lemon cake (the "not so good" choice of all ). I recomend it and a 5k run after too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Route66por
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Lady Jane also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Lady Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing