We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”
Review of The Griddle Cafe

The Griddle Cafe
Ranked #5 of 9,953 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Hollywood
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I ate here after looking at Trip Advisor and seeing great reviews. We weren't disappointed. The food was delicious (although we definitely ordered too much as the portions are huge). Try the banana pancakes and their French toast (yum)!
Good value for money. Definitely recommended this place for brunch.

Helpful?
1 Thank love_and_live_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    355
    77
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“AMAZING! MUST GO”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Surprised that there was quite a wait on a Saturday morning but we waited around 40 minutes for a table for 2 people. The host was great about keeping you informed.

The place is decorated quite trendy.

There is a wrap around bar-like station that is cute but very uncomfortable to sit at. Honestly, if they took it out, there would probably be more seating.

I ordered a 1/2 order of the Original French Toast (it was incredible...didn't even need syrup).
I ordered a 1/2 order of Graham Cracker Cheesecake French Toast and it was to die for. However, it was quite sweet.

I couldn't finish both French toast pieces...took half of each back to hotel for a great late night snack!

My daughter ordered the Red Velvet Pancake. It was huge. It was very sweet. Tasted more like cake than a pancake. Not my order...not my taste...especially for breakfast.

The highlight was that they served fresh pressed coffee! It was so delicious.

I would definitely recommend this place and it is worth the wait!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank debdoodleNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sooooooo overrated!”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

My family and I visited the Griddle Café for breakfast on 2 different occasions. The first experience was okay - though the food was subpar, and they neglected to bring my chicken breast that I ordered (they only have pork products for breakfast meat, and my family doesn't eat pork). The second experience was absolutely horrible! We went back because we always like to give everything a second chance. Our waiter, after taking our order, never returned to check on us - had he performed his duties as a waiter, he would've known that I never received the chicken breast that I ordered - yes, they forgot the chicken breast again! Well, upon finishing our subpar meal, we chased him down and asked for our check. After 10 minutes passed, he never returned. We then caught his attention again, and he apologized and stated that he would get right on it. Another 10 minutes went by - and nothing. My husband walked over to him again and asked for the check - yes, this would make 3 times! Needless to say, we did not leave our normal 20%+ tip! As a matter of fact, we didn't leave a tip at all! I refuse to reward poor service! Upon walking out of the door, I guess the waiter noticed that we didn't leave a tip for his horrible service, and yelled "Don't come back!" Yes - I couldn't believe my ears, he actually yelled this at us! I will NEVER, NEVER, NEVER, NEVER, return to this establishment - EVER!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skystar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good brunch”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

30min waiting at the door (weekand), huge pancake ( 1 for 4 pp), not very good scrumble eggs.. good value of money, easy position, fantastic staff, and good atmosphere

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum, Yum, no.1 place in LA for breakfast.”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Chocolate and Banana pancakes coupled with French pressed coffee, yum yum - there's no better way to start the day and because the majority of people living in LA are on the Atkins you're always guaranteed a seat.

Breakfast is my favourite meal or the day (another trait I share with Leslie Knope), this place puts JJ's diner to shame. You can't find a better one in LA - if you love breakfast.

The coffee is divine, the pancakes are huge and thick. The atmosphere is lovely and if you're a tourist you will probably enjoy the experience of sitting next to one of the original 90210 cast members.

It's a lively and colourful place to take in LA culture.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Griddle Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Griddle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing