We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas Restaurant”
Review of A.O.C.

A.O.C.
Ranked #53 of 11,852 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: George Burns Drive
Transit: The MTA bus stop at Fairfax and Third Street is the closest public transit stop.
Description: Our address is 8700 W. 3rd Street & George Burns Drive. A.O.C. is a small plates restaurant driven by seasonal ingredients, locally sourced. Our California French cuisine was developed by Chef Suzanne Goin, and has some Mediterranean influences as well. We have 24 wines by the glass and 150 bottles to choose from, curated by Caroline Styne, all of which are either organic, biodynamic or sustainable. And now, featuring a full bar with premium spirits and specialty cocktails. Reservations are encouraged.
Reviewed August 13, 2016

Very nice tapas restaurant with some unique menu items. Even spotted a celebrity two tables over. It's definitely not a tourist trap. Great wine list. The bacon wrapped dates were amazing. The service was very good as well.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrianJ34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 138 of 449 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2016

During a recent trip to LA it was suggested we go to AOC and upon arrival I was thrilled. The surroundings were beautiful and the patio seating we were offered was great. Unfortunately the food was nothing short of meh. We arrived at lunch time and I was happy that brunch was being served. I ordered an omelette which was rubbery and flavourless. The potatoes and toast accompanying were both good as was the coffee. One of our guests ordered the waffles and chicken and the waffle was ice cold. Basic bacon and eggs were just ok as was the salad another guest had. Perhaps the best meal was the roast chicken sandwich. Unfortunately the poor food ruined the great surroundings.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Funati
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

We had the Fresh Fig Focaccia (which was divine), Grilled Peaches with Burrata, etc. (heavenly), Heirloom tomato with a Avocado, etc. (also quite excellent). The only one we didn't care for was the Corn, Zucchini, etc. salad, as we found it to be a bit boring. As for desserts, I enjoyed the Coconut Flan and my friend enjoyed the Butterscotch Pot de Creme. Wait staff was friendly and professional. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and helpful. Can't wait to go there again.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank letsgotochina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Of all my years of traveling and using TripAdvisor this is the most over rated restaurant we have ever eaten at. Perhaps it's because tapas is so trend
Expensive, small portions of tasteless food. There must have been a secret ingredient as we barely made it home in time
Awful in every way.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank RandyG728
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016

The Spanish fried chicken and short ribs are amazing as is the faro and black rice side dish. The cauliflower with curry is ok, not great. Great menu, lots of choices for dishes to share. Desserts were tiny except for the peach cobbler. Service was excellent pricing was a bit high for the portion sizes.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shanny1419
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A.O.C. also viewed

 
Beverly Hills, CA
Beverly Hills, CA
 

Been to A.O.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.