We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best street food you'll get in a restaurant”
Review of Gloria's Cafe

Gloria's Cafe
Ranked #783 of 9,979 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Westside
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best street food you'll get in a restaurant”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I started enjoying Gloria's food when she was inside a purple clapboard "restaurant" off Olympic Boulevard in the 80's. Fresh, delicious, and made with love, I spent a good chunk of my paycheque every week by lunching there almost every day. I moved away and have seriously missed this amazing Mexican-Salvadoran fusion food. When I was last in Los Angeles I learned that she had moved and much to my delight, the food is as delicious as ever! I adore the pupusas, but the pork, rice and beans, the chips & salsa, the tortilla soup - everything is good. This was my first visit with dessert, though and the sweet empanadas were the perfect end to a great meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EGCruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Papusas - Incredible”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

There was a bit of trepidation when we first walked in since we were the only people in the place. However, soon we realized that we were just a bit early as the place filled up quickly. Having the Salvadoran Regia Beer served in a quart size bottle was a great start. Appetizer was the 2 papusas for $4.50 - cheese & herb and pork & cheese. These may have been some of the best papusas I have ever eaten. Really flaky on the outside and oozing on the inside. I'd go back in a heartbeat just for those. Based on the reviews we got the Adobada and while it wasn't as transcendant as advertised, it was a very good dish. The sauce was fantastic but the beef was a bit tough. The rice was as good as rice gets, but the beans were just kind of there - nothing remarkable.

Service was great and the ambiance was a lot of fun. As I mentioned earlier, go for the papusas - they are out of this world.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BayouMafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Favorite local Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I come here every now and then to enjoy a good service and satisfying dinner after a long day. I like almost everything that I've tried from their menu, include the variations of pupusa, enchiladas, tamales, tacos, burritos, and (love especially) the coctel campechana. Easily one of my most favorite local restaurants and often would recommend to my friends/visitors from out of town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place is awesome! I had the Carne Adobada and a pitcher of Sangria, which were suggested. Both great, even had enough leftovers for the next day. Gloria and her staff were great. Will go back next time I am visiting L. A.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ASmith333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quaint place with great food!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Ordered the chicken tortilla soup and we shared a large pitcher of sangria. Both were incredibly delicious and the portions large.
A must try !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zeroorone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gloria's Cafe also viewed

 
Culver City, CA
Culver City, CA
 

Been to Gloria's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing