We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great take-out option”
Review of Hirozen

Hirozen
Ranked #1,224 of 9,979 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great take-out option”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Our family traditionally gets take-out for dinner the night before Thanksgiving and we opted for sushi this time. Hirozen was a terrific choice! With an online menu it was easy to make our selections. Of the sushi rolls we ordered, the tempura shrimp roll and the California roll with real crabmeat (for a few dollars extra) were big hits. For the few in our group who don't eat raw fish, they raved about the salmon teriyaki. Everything was fresh and delicious. We'll definitely be back next year!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank yygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Werribee, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This wonderful little restaurant is tucked away in the corner of the most unlikely area to find a restaurant. It was full the night we walked past so decided to visit the following night for dinner. It was a little bit cramped but oh boy was it worth it. The service was good and the food was amazing. All of the dishes we tried were fresh and had a great modern twist to them. I only wish this wonderful restaurant was in Melbourne.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cute quiet sushi place”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you want to feel like a local Angelino eat here. They have great sushi and a sweet atmosphere. It is a small place but they have delicious sushi. It is a good place to go with a small group of people or for date night. They have a small selection of wine and beer and of course Sake too. I really liked their hand rolls- very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin3980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Quality Sushi, little ambiance”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The sushi is great, fresh, tasty, traditional. The portions are a little small but not too small though it definitely adds up and gets prices if you are hungry. The restaurant lacks ambiance and is in the corner of a strip mall but hey, most of the best sushi spots in LA are. Def worth a visit to a traditional sushi fan.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aquaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Sushi I've Ever Eaten”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Service is excellent, the sushi is top notch and prepared with a creative flair, the sushi chef is a master, and the atmosphere is comfortable. The dishes are a tad bit more expensive than some, but worth every penny. I've eaten sushi many times, and ib many different cities over the past thirty or so years. BY FAR, Hirozen in Los Angeles is the best sushi restaurant I've ever been to.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank peggy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hirozen also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Beverly Hills, CA
 

Been to Hirozen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing