We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Québécois in Westwood”
Review of Soleil Westwood

Soleil Westwood
Reserve with OpenTable
Soleil Westwood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #714 of 10,202 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Westside
Description: Soleil Westwood, a fixture of the neighborhood for over 10 years, sits proudly on the corner of Westwood Boulevard and Wilkins Avenue. Although it’s known primarily for its French cuisine, its roots are from Quebec. Executive Chef and Owner, Luc Alarie grew up in Val-d’Or before moving to Montreal to study at the Institute of Tourism and Hotels. Arriving in Los Angeles over 22 years ago, he fell in love with the city. Having long worked as a waiter and manager at various places in the city, he decided to open his own restaurant, Soleil Westwood.Whether stopping in for a quick lunch during the week, enjoying a relaxing leisurely brunch on the weekend, or spending time over dinner with family or friends, Soleil offers something for everyones’ taste. Choose from a various array of dishes featured on the menu as well as the Chef’s daily specials. Plus, the wine menu and beers of the world selection will aim to please. We look forward to seeing you soon at Soleil Westwood.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Soleil Westwood is a welcome relief from the too-hip, overpriced cuisine of so many westside restaurants. There is an authenticity to the menu, ambiance, and service that is refreshing and satisfying. The Onion soup has a unique beefy taste complemented by the Gruyere cheese. The escargots are subdued (ie, not too garlicky). A wide range of bistro dishes and a good wine list. All at a modest price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc A, Owner at Soleil Westwood, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Merci, John N. I appreciate your comments and hope others agree. We do our best. Next time you are at Soleil, please introduce yourself!

Luc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 66 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Cruising for a place for lunch. The flags and the name got me....a guess. And what a surprise...great specials...the fluffiest quiche ever with a flaky "melt in your mouth" crust...and the frites! A wonderful thinly sliced medium steak sandwich with luscious tomatoes and lettuce. An exquisite warm spinach salad. Great glass of CA cab and a beautiful espresso. Great ambiance and service. Sigh.
A pearl just off Wiltshire. Vivre le Québec.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc A, Owner at Soleil Westwood, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your lunch with us and we hope you will come back and say hi on your next visit to LA.
Merci,
Luc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Took 23 people including 3 small children for a celebratory wedding rehearsal lunch at Soleil. We ordered a couple of their specialty French Fry Flights for appetizers. Wow, were they good! Then they served a fresh spinach salad with home-baked bread. We pre-arranged two choices for the main course to make it easier and faster for their kitchen, and they were both excellent. Then coffee and great desserts. The wine list is excellent also and we wound up ordering a few bottles. They did not charge us an extra room fee for the large number, nor did they charge drink minimums, as some restaurants wanted to do. Each person ordered the drink of their choice, and it was charged at their regular menu prices. Anthony was our primary server, and he patiently took great care of us. Service was prompt, but we were not rushed and stayed there chatting for a total of about 3 hours. Couldn't be better!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kleeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc A, Owner at Soleil Westwood, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for the very kind review! It was our pleasure to serve you. Anthony says Hi!

Merci, Luc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My son, husband and I frequently choose Soleil for the great food, friendly staff and warm ambiance. Luc Alari, the owner, always stops at our table to say hi and see how we are doing. The busboys and waitstaff are always friendly and attentive. The $10 corkage fee is very reasonable and one of the lowest around town. We love the Canard (duck), mussels, sand-dabs and the poutine! If you've never had poutine, you have to try the Poutine Christine, which is perfectly cooked skinny french-fries covered in a rich, peppercorn gravy. YUM! We've also been to Soleil Westwood on special nights, like Halloween, where everyone dresses up, staff and customers alike. Lots of fun!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PeaceFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I originally went to this restaurant in Feb. 2013 and gave it a 4 star rating. We went again in March and last night with friends. This restaurant is consistently VERY good. I give the rating of 5 stars to all aspects of the restaurant. The ONLY reason I didn't rate the overall 5 stars is like i've said before the wine list is not up to my liking. Nothing wrong with the list for most, I just didn't care for it. So I resolve that by bringing my own wine. There is a reasonable $10.00 corkage fee. The service all around is attentive and friendly. We like to sit in Antonio's section. As I said just found this restaurant In Feb 2013, went again in March and last night with friends who also thoroughly enjoyed it, and we are going back Wed. for the "All you can eat" mussels. Can't wait...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sushiman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soleil Westwood also viewed

 

Been to Soleil Westwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing