We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything blew me away”
Review of Chaya Venice

Chaya Venice
Reserve with OpenTable
Chaya Venice is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #259 of 9,954 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Venice
Cross street: Main Street
Description: The Chaya restaurant family originated when Hikage Chaya opened in Hayama, Japan. From this initial tea house, that opened 390 years ago, the Tsunoda family has expanded into French bistros and pastry shops throughout Japan and introduced the brand to the U.S. in 1984 with the opening of Chaya Brasserie in Beverly Hills. Since then, Chaya has opened locations in Venice, San Francisco, Downtown Los Angeles, and LAX. The cuisine at each restaurants can best be described as modern Japanese though each restaurant has a distinct personality reflecting their different locations. Corporate Executive Chef, Shigefume Tachibe is best known for pioneering modern Japanese cuisine and his contributions to the Asian-Fusion movement. His chef coat and knife are in permanent display in the Smithsonian. The most important tenet of Chaya's philosophy is high-level omotenashi (hospitality), bringing the Japanese teahouse tradition of warm and personal service to each guest.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Everything blew me away”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Chaya is just one of those places that is in a league of it's own. Everything was cooked to perfection. Staff is wonderful. Very elegant, quiet and intimate dining experience. Amazing food.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank L2Connelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    63
    31
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sushi bar is okay”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Walking in, the decor is great and the hostess very welcoming. The barmaid makes phenomenal drinks. The sushi very good however being accustomed to excellent sushi restaurants, Chaya Venice disappointed me as the taste was average. Although the fish is very fresh.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MissVKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“sexy”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

loved it! The beautiful people of California were here in full force, just as the food, this is a sexy place. The food and drinks were very fresh, the tuna app was a great deal at 15.
Service was prompt, cannot wait to visit again,

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fancysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arzignano, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Place to stay”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We just walked in for a quick dinner after our arrival. I got some Sushi and my wife a Tilapia, we shared a glass of German Riesling. Food was good, and service too. What we didn't like much was the noisiness of the place after it went full and the long wait we had before somebody brought us the dessert menu. Wine was really good. We spent around 90 dollar with the tip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank enigm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best HH in town”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Not only is this one of my FAVORITE places for dinner, but their HH menu is just insane. All night every night HUGE selections with items from the regular menu. Also, Tuesdays are 1/2 priced bottles of wine and Sundays are 1/2 priced lobster (during the summer only i think). The vibe is young and hip and ALWAYS packed. What's not to love?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaya Venice also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Chaya Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing