We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a must!”
Review of Little Next Door

Little Next Door
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Next Door is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #275 of 10,042 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1 block west of Crescent Heights at La Jolla
Description: As an extension of The Little Door, Little Next Door is a modern French brasserie featuring farm-fresh seasonal fare serving daily weekend brunch, lunch and dinner. The menu highlights both classic and French forward dinner specials, sandwiches, salads, freshly baked organic breads & pastries, egg dishes and a variety of our famous jams and preserves with a diverse selection of wines from around the world.
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“It's a must!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

No reservations but no worries on a weeknight around 7pm. Missed the 50%off wines by 5mins but oh well. Ambience is great loved sitting on the patio. Very French feeling indeed.
Food was very good quality & well prepared/thought out. Had the shrimp cocktail & tuna/avocado appetizers. Both excellent! For our mains we had the morrocan filet mignon kebab & the salmon fillet. Again presentation & flavouring very nice & portions were good. If anything too much tabbouleh & salad on the kebab plate. Too full for dessert but another time we'll go just for coffee & pastries maybe. Our server was pleasant but after taking our order & then printing our receipt he didn't once check on us or our meals. The other staff cleared up & checked on us & got us the bill. Hopefully tips are shared.
Will be back next time we're in town!

Helpful?
Thank YNWATravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Public Relations Manager at Little Next Door, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks so much for your review!

We're glad you enjoyed the food and portions. We'd love to have you again for coffee and pastries!

Thank you for stopping by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    64
    22
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast Meh”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Definitely not worth the hype. Mediocre brunch. Server was very nice and the bright blue walls were nice. But the coffee, omelet and the sides were subpar or greasy. My friends felt similarly.

Helpful?
Thank notkeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, TX
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Inventive menu”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

On a recent trip to LA to visit friends, they took me out for an early lunch on Saturday. WOW! It was delicious. Three of us ordered salads or sandwiches and small plates to share. I loved the brie and fig sandwich, and the small plate of pomme frites with camembert were delicious!

There is valet parking, and even on a Saturday morning without a reservation, we only waited for them to clear a table.

Service was attentive and professional. All of the staff were friendly.

As a Texan, I commented that the experience felt very Californian: casual, intimate. I loved it, sitting there dining al fresco and wearing dark sunglasses!

My young friend stepped in next door to their sister restaurant, which is a bit more formal, to make a special event reservation. It also looked very cool.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Public Relations Manager at Little Next Door, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Nittie! Thank you for your review! We're very glad you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Now We known What is behind the Door”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

So, what is behind the door? Another door? A vampire lurking? Or, simply one of the best restaurants we have tried in LA... I vote for the last note. The Little Next Door is, well, in the terms of years ago...a darn cool place. This is a place where the ambiance tackles the food construction for what is the best in line. Kudos to the servers and bar staff and the rest of those who make this restaurant special and significant. We can not imagine a 'bad' meal being served here---just as we can not image an more imaginative use of roof tin, trees, vines, covered patios, heaters, tables and chairs....somehow it all blends into a mosaic of perfection. For LA restaurants, what works is what works--and for the little door--next door or not--what works is just wonderful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rlhjlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Public Relations Manager at Little Next Door, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our restaurant! We're very glad you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Spacious restaurant with great ambiance and fitted out to give a genuine European feel. Very well trained servers, and friendly, attentive service. Saturday brunch menu had a many choices, and every dish had a unique appeal - so it seems as if a lot of thought has gone into the menu offerings.
I had smoked salmon eggs benedict -- which was truly delicious. The latte I ordered was served in a bowl - and that's something I have only previously experienced in rural France. Fantastique! The pastries are amazing. Pricing was moderate -- and well worth it. Everyone had a great meal, and were made to feel very welcome. Kudos, guys - you're doing great!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank filmworksusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Next Door also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Little Next Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing