We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking for a wonderful deli?”

Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 9,888 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Description: Founded in 1967, Brent's Deli (with locations in Northridge and Westlake Village) has been the ZAGAT-rated # 1 Delicatessen & Restaurant for 17 years. Brent's Deli features more than 650 items on its menu, as well as take-out, delivery anywhere in Southern California (literally) and catering for 20 or 2,000.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looking for a wonderful deli?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Well look no more.I have been to several wonderful deli's throughout United States and Canada. I must tell you that Brent's ranks right up there with the best of them,--probably the best in Southern California for sure. The food selection is huge and the prices moderate by todays standards. The food is simply delicious, just like your mother used to make, maybe better. This a must to do stop for us whenever we are in the Los Angeles area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh H, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi Harvey, it's Josh from Brent's Deli. I'm the Marketing & Social Media Manager.

Thanks for the great review! Be sure to connect with us on Facebook, where we post all of our updates, events and promotions.

Thanks again, and take care!

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    209
    45
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northridge, CA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good lunch sandwiches and breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Northridge location is usually busy. It's kind of not in a prime spot, but if it was, it would be busier. Good pastrami sandwiches and a good breakfast selection. The prices are slightly on the high end, so you'll probably not want to eat here daily.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Burgerwars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh H, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hi, it's Josh from Brent's Deli. Thanks for the review!

Be sure to connect with us on Facebook, where we post all of our updates, events and promotions.

Thanks again, and take care!

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GREAT deli food and wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Brent's is the typical long-term deli (think the sign said established in 1967) that knows how to keep its customers satisfied with great food and service.

Portions are large and prepared with a bit of flair. Appetizers (pickles and sauerkraut) are provided. What's not to love in this type of authentic meal?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VegasPokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh H, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi, it's Josh from Brent's Deli. I'm the Marketing & Social Media Manager.

Thanks for the great review! Yes, that's right -- established in 1967. But more importantly, I'm glad to hear you enjoy our authentic deli style.

I'd like to invite you to connect with us on Facebook, where we post all of our updates, events and promotions.

Thanks again, and take care!

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing service and food is worth the 500 mile trek!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We came to Los Angeles for a family vacation and decided that we would go local and eat we're the locals eat. We were not disappointed with Brent's Deli. Especially with the great service from Antonio and Renee. They were very attentive and great service all around. Antonio came to greet us first and was very friendly and we asked him for recommendations on what was best and he gave us some great options. We ended up getting the "Heart stopper" a pastrami sandwich with coleslaw on a onion roll. It was so delicious, the pastrami melts in your mouth and the bread is perfect with it. With there added coleslaw it is the perfect sandwich. We also ordered the potato skins and they were great as well. we have two kids and they were not disappointed with the turkey sandwich and mini cheeseburgers. Thank you again to Antonio for his help and great service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fernando r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh H, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Fernando,

Thanks for the great review! We'll be sure to reward Antonio and Renee on your behalf as part of our staff acknowledgement program.

We invite you to connect with us on Facebook, where we posts all of our updates, events and promotions.

Thanks again, and take care!

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Truly Yummy Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Tried this place on a recommendation of their pastrami and they were so correct. Set in a small outside mall, parking is not difficult. There was about a 20 minute wait on a Saturday morning so not too bad. Waitress friendly and water glass kept filled (important). The menu was huge and they had everything you could possibly want. Before our meal we were served rye bread and pickles. When our pastrami sandwich came it was just right. Bread excellent, coleslaw not too much nor too little, Russian dressing excellent. The pickles were so good my wife got some to take home. Our meal was wife approved which counts for a lot since she is a New York girl.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh H, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi, it's Josh from Brent's Deli. I'm the Marketing & Social Media Manager.

Thanks for the amazing review! I'm glad you and your wife enjoyed yourselves and our pastrami :)

Be sure to connect with us on Facebook, where we post all of our updates, events and promotions.

Thanks again, and take care!

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing