We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'd love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant

Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 9,848 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Description: Founded in 1967, Brent's Deli (with locations in Northridge and Westlake Village) has been the ZAGAT-rated # 1 Delicatessen & Restaurant for 17 years. Brent's Deli features more than 650 items on its menu, as well as take-out, delivery anywhere in Southern California (literally) and catering for 20 or 2,000.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You'd love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

It was not the first time I ate at Brent's, having lived in its neighborhood for years before moving. I was not disappointed by my decision to check out this restaurant again recently after more than a year. The omelets were great, as those were what I always went there to eat. The service was friendly and quick as usual. The environment of the restaurant was nice also, but that does not mean it has the best of ambience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LucasG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhoff89, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hey Lucas,

It's Josh from Brent's Deli. I'm the Marketing & Social Media Manager.

Thanks for the great review! I'm glad to hear you weren't disappointed after the hiatus :)

Happy New Year!

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    205
    44
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food Still Good but the service SUCKS”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Once upon a time, for about 30 years, we would come 4 or 5 times a week and enjoyed the food the service but not any more. Busboys are horrible and you have to ask them for pickles, napkins and drinks at least 3 times for each. You won't get refills, forget it. When you ask the waitress with arms of tattoos for the drinks, she refers you to the nonexistent busboys, have you heard , "Not my job". This place isn;t mismanaged, it's not managed. This is not the first, second or third time this has happened in the last 3 months. We come only couple times a month because of it. But we won;t be back to Northridge Brents any more.
I suggest when you desire good deli food go to Brent's in Westlake, where they still care if the customer is happy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerIV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhoff89, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi, it's Josh from Brent's Deli. I'm the Marketing & Social Media Manager.

I'm truly sorry to hear about your last few experiences! We almost always get great reviews both online and in person about our service, but nonetheless we realize perfection is nearly impossible to achieve.

With that said, we want to ensure your next visit isn't like the last few ones. Please contact us via our website and we'll be sure to manage this situation and greatly improve upon it moving forward.

Again, our sincerest apologies!

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“OMG! Blows the Doors off of Carnegie Deli in NYC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

How can a west coast deli be this good? Well, unlike all the rest of the lazy deli owners on the "left coast" they cook their own meats. No crappy Boar's Head brand cold cuts here. And the freshness of the bread? Like no other. I was stunned on how good the pastrami sandwich was. Oh, yes…and try the fresh made strudel too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePinkCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhoff89, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hi, it's Josh from Brent's Deli. I'm the Marketing & Social Media Manager.

Thanks for the tremendous review! We sincerely appreciate your patronage, and we hope you have a great holiday season!

All the best,
Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok, but expected the soup to be homemade”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I had heard about Brent's ever since we moved to LA 13 years ago and just got around to going there. The portions were very large - but then the prices are very high also. I made homemade soup from scratch for restaurants for years and can spot a soup from canned ingredients a mile away. The chicken noodle soup was not made from scratch and really not that good. The rye bread is amazing. All in all, decent but not great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank levisgaulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhoff89, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hi, it's Josh from Brent's Deli -- I'm the Marketing & Social Media Manager.

I'm very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our Chicken Noodle Soup so much. In all honesty, we make all of our soups from scratch and don't use any pre-prepared ingredients.

If you'd like to further discuss or offer us more feedback, please contact us through our website.

Happy Holidays!

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Very healthy portions of good tasting food. Unfortunately, its gets very busy on weekends and holidays. Best known for its hot sandwiches.

Helpful?
Thank AM90031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhoff89, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hi, it's Josh from Brent's Deli. I'm the Marketing & Social Media Manager.

Thanks for the great review! Be sure to check out our holiday promotions by visiting our website.

Happy Holidays!

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing