We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best Deli in LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant

Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9,517 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Kosher, Delicatessen, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Description: Founded in 1967, Brent's Deli (with locations in Northridge and Westlake Village) has been the ZAGAT-rated # 1 Delicatessen & Restaurant for 17 years. Brent's Deli features more than 650 items on its menu, as well as take-out, delivery anywhere in Southern California (literally) and catering for 20 or 2,000.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best Deli in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Previously reviewed and still the best. We also ate (again) at Philippe's the Original (also previously reviewed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank juless507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhoff89, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Jules,

My name is Josh -- I'm the Marketing & Social Media Manager at Brent's Deli.

Thanks for the great review / rating! We hope to see you again the next time you're in LA :)

I hope you made it back to San Diego safe and sound.

Take care,
Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    164
    35
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Deli in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have been there a number of times, the most recent of which was last night. The food is always excellent, and the service is really good. Last night I asked for extra lean pastrami, and I got the leanest pastrami I have ever had. And it was so tasty. This is certainly the best deli in the San Fernando Valley, if not in all of Los Angeles.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhoff89, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hey Andy,

My name is Josh -- I'm the Marketing & Social Media Manager at Brent's Deli.

Thanks for the great review -- I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed our lean pastrami!

Take care,
Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I am in love with the hot pastrami and I love the Stuffed Cabbage. The bread was very tasty too, The service was fast and friendly. I have been there many times, can’t stop my self going there, because the food was very delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhoff89, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hey Megan,

My name is Josh -- I'm the Marketing & Social Media Manager at Brent's Deli.

Thanks for the great review! I'm glad to hear you enjoy our hot pastrami and stuffed cabbage -- they're two of our most popular dishes!

We hope to see you again soon!

Take care,
Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Brent's is by far the best deli in the San Fernando Valley. Whenever I travel to Los Angeles, I always have a pastrami sandwich there. As good as it was 15 years ago. Yummy. Quick, friendly and fast service. The pickles are to die for. Can't wait to go back again. Thank you Brent's!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhoff89, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi, my name is Josh -- I'm the Marketing & Social Media Manager at Brent's Deli.

Thanks so much for your great review! We pride ourselves on providing great food and great service, and I'm glad to hear you experienced both.

Take care,
Josh

brentsdeli.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite deli!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have been to brents many times. Great ham and cheese omelets. Perfect Monte Cristo sandwich and that's hard to find. Huge deli sized portions. Not too many good delis left. This one is worth the drive. Crowded and noisy but that is normal for a busy deli! Go at off times to get seated right away. The waitresses are friendly and welcoming. Don't listen to the negative reviews. This is a gem. Kids happy. Husband happy. Coming back to Brents!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reviewer91384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhoff89, Public Relations Manager at Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi, my name is Josh -- I'm the Marketing & Social Media Manager at Brent's Deli.

Thanks so much for your great review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the Ham and Cheese Omelette, as well as the Monte Cristo Sandwich -- they're two of our more popular dishes!

Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!

Josh
brentsdeli.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brent's Delicatessen & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing