We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for dinner. Live entertainment, good food. Comfy.”

Delmonico's Lobster House
Ranked #3,703 of 9,954 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great for dinner. Live entertainment, good food. Comfy.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Always a treat for us to dine at Delmonico's in Encino, just east of the Hayvenhurst exit of the 101. Early dining and late dining (9pm) are the easiest to get weekend, last minute reservations for. Dress is casual. The booths are private and romantic, but small. You have to slide the table to squeeze in, so not for more than two people usually. The menu covers pasta, seafood, and steaks. I often order the surf & turf (petite filet mignon and decent sized lobster tail). Steaks are cooked properly, and so far-- lean the way I prefer. I am not into chunks of side fat or gristle! My wife loves the paella -- loads of seafood. Make sure you order some garlic bread; it is fantastic. (comes with the meal). Service is friendly and attentive; drinks are refilled without having to wave your arm around. Prices are reasonable, though not cheap. But a lot better than most Los Angeles steak houses. And at least the meals are well worth it. On weekends, they have a (blind) piano player who is a cross between Billy Joel and Andrea Bocelli -- very pleasant to listen to while dining. Be sure to leave him a tip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilaFred13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Dimas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I was looking forward to their Lobster Thermidor and was told that they only serve it at dinner. We were there at 1pm, during brunch. We traveled about 60 miles. We had the brunch and the stuffed lobster was just OK for me. I have not been able to find good Lobster Thermidor yet. The french restaurent in Santa Monica, that served it closed. Some of the other items were too salty. I liked their potatoes, and some of their other items. Their desserts were good. Overall, I think the Lobster could have been tastier. Their service could have been better, we had to keep asking for the waiter when we wanted something.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, but noisy”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We hadn't been back to Delmonico's for many years. I received a coupon for 50% off one entree, so we decided to try it again. There were four of us and I requested a booth. It was a very private booth, which was nice. There was a piano player/singer at the front of the restaurant. He sang all types of songs and was good, but it was a bit loud for dining conversation. As the restaurant got more crowded,,the noise level rose. The service was very good and the fish was delicious. Our friend ordered a steak and he said it was very good. We will definitely go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Brunch that blows others away”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had the pleasure of brunch at Delmonico's Lobster House in LA. All the Maine lobster you could eat with a cold seafood bar that had everything! Snow crab, clams, oysters, mussels, King crab, etc. After eating to my heart's content I could not resist the fabulous dessert bar. I had to coax my wife along (she doesn't eat much) and she loved it! If you're in LA treat yourself! Absolutely delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Srsignore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
279 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Old style steak house”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This in an old style steak house with private booths. Bright atmosphere. The rib steak was fantastic. Request withe the sauce on the side. Comes with onion rings and fresh corn. Unless you love tiny crispy onion rings, ask for a healthier substitute. Service was good. Valet parking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delmonico's Lobster House also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Delmonico's Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing