We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Italian in LA”
Review of Locanda Veneta

Locanda Veneta
Reserve with OpenTable
Locanda Veneta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #405 of 9,980 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: Btw. Robertson and San Vincente
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
430 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fine Italian in LA”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

First of all, Los Angeles and Beverly Hills have an abundance of fine eating establishments. So to stand out with fine italian as Locanda Veneta has takes some hard work. Basically two prix fix menus with several selections on each, plus an extraordinary soup and salad offering.
Each menu offers choice of several soups or salads as a beginning, then followed by at least twelve entrée offerings. Put all this together with an intimate setting and what a better place for a lunch or dinner. We enjoyed the salad Tricolor and a roasted pork loin stuffed with sausage dressing all over a balsamic vinegar reduction.

This was accompanied by a fine Italian red wine ( one glass only for me,) I had a business meeting shortly after.

The staff was absolutely great. Just the right amount of presence without being overbearing.
When in this part of LA, it will become a go to spot for business and friends dining.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    22
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pefection”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Small and intimate, but not stuffy and stuck-up. Fantastic food. We had the zucchini blossoms - lightly breaded and filled with a delicous light cheese mix - served with a pesto/marinara. Outstanding. The eggplant appetizer is a must. Fresh, hot - delicious. We allowed our superb waiter, Ernesto, to select our wines and they are right on the spot. The kitchen will often make off-menu items, so be brave and ask. For example, once I knew that had fresh truffles, they were more than happy to make a simple truffle risotto. AMAZING. I had eaten it there before and it was a special treat! Our table ordered the lasagne (dont be fooled, this is not Olive Garden) you can simply taste the care and love in the thin sheets of pasta and the light but intense sauce; asparagus risotto (risotto is never a disappointment here); and gnocchi. Everyone licked the plate clean. This is a special place for close friends and family but you can easily have a business dinner too. Fine dining with great staff, wonderful food and reasonable prices. It seems the average past entree is below $23-25 and healthy portions. The bread is marvelous - airy and yet rustic - served with a pesto spread. I dont even like pesto and we have two bowls of it. Go... you will love it. The table claimed the tiramisu was the best they had every had, not sure, since I am not a big fan.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScribblesLongBeachCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place we ever had dinner since Amanpulo!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Fresh, fresh, fresh! Food was passionately well-prepared and very light for an Italian cuisine. It was appropriately priced too. The service was excellent. The staff was courteous and unpretentious, as well as the ambience. We will definitely share Locanda with our friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyranMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“fabulous again!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

went here for about the fifth time. it was only about a $20 taxi ride from hollywood.
the restaurant was full so we were glad we booked. the atmosphere was lively, yet at the same time romantic. we were looked after exceptionally well by Massimo who is originally from Florence.
the food as ever was amazing. my wife is still talking about the lamb and the steak i had was the best i had all holiday. the wine was great too and massimo suggested a nice one.
this is without doubt our favourite restaurant anywhere in the world. i just wish it was closer to home!
there are so many restaurants in LA, however if you are staying anywhere in LA, come here for a meal. the fact that it has been around for so long, speaks volumes.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Level Contributor
189 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Small true Italian restaurant in my "hood"”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We love this place for lunch. As the dinning room is small it can get very noisy at dinner. The service is very professional. The fact that they've been around for so long is testimony to this restaurant providing consistently great food.

Helpful?
Thank samroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda Veneta also viewed

 

Been to Locanda Veneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing