We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Grano

Il Grano
Ranked #1,992 of 9,898 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Westside
Cross street: Purdue
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The cuisine at il Grano follows the seasons, in large part because the chef builds many of his plates around what comes out of his own garden. Thus each visit finds a new menu and a new burst of culinary creativity. Vegetables are not a garnish, but a critical component of the balance of each plate. Seafood always very fresh and excellently prepared. Most recent visit we loved a goat osso buco and a rabbit Milanese- both excellent. Wine list is extensive with excellent choices at every price point. One of the truly outstanding restaurants in Los Angeles.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank eclectic_traveler043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
280 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Taste of Cal-Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Il Grano is a fixture for fine wine and dining. Chef owner Sal Marino is usually a creative dynamo. This last week's very high end wine and game food dinner was no exception. Sal is a master at turning usually tough wild game into savory dishes of delight. Elk, boar, venison all had their moments as we pigged out in the small private dining room . There were a couple of dishes that were either not cooked enough or served cold when they should have been warmer. Otherwise it was a perfect evening. When not dining on exotic game I love to indulge in Sal's classic Branzino cooked encased in salt. I frequently go to lunch just for Sal's Branzino. The pastas are also drop dead melt in your mouth savory.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aresverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We've just had a pretty close to flawless dinner at Il Grano. The food was interesting and perfectly prepared, the service was perfect...warm, professional and attentive, and the room is very comfortable. A wonderful spot!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“TASTE AND BEAUTY COMBINED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Il Grano is a hidden gem in West Los Angeles. Much of the produce served is grown by the chef/owner. And, the fish is exquisite. Service is attentive. The ambiance allows grown up conversation. The dishes are beautifully plated. The prices are not low.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, NJ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service at Il Grano, LA, CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visited in mid-May 2013. Reservations are accepted; we were seated in a comfortable corner booth. Excellent server.
Had the special of a delicious porcini salad for an appetizer, halibut for the main course and cicoccolato for dessert (very tasty with a chocalate biscotti as the crust).
Two in my party had the zuppa piselli - absolutely the best pea soup ever, made with fresh peas. The color of the this soup is brilliant and it is made to order!
The branzino fish is cooked to perfection (our friend raved and allowed samplings) and deboned at tableside by the server.
The Colorado lamb chops were enjoyed by my spouse and another of our party thoroughly enjoyed the fiori (ricotta stuffed zucchini blossoms) as her appetizer and the salmone as her main course.

The chef visited our table to be certain the food was agreeable to us. Everything was fabulous and delicious, the presentation of each item was perfect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CelticGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Grano also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Il Grano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing