We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmmmmm”
Review of Al Gelato

Al Gelato
Ranked #90 of 229 Dessert in Los Angeles
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central L.A
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Gelato and Apple Pie are excellent. Food is plentiful, sauce is a little sweeter than most Italian restaurants but good. Everyone working there is friendly. Coffees and latte are very good. There are a few tables outside that are great to relax in the evening. They are pretty busy for a reason. I think they now have started a delivery service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank uconngirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
long island, Ny
Level Contributor
127 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“yums”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

first night in cali we came here for gelato and yummy. only wish we got to come back during our trip. open late which is good. so many places close at like 9. don't most people want gelato/ice cream after dinner?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank poisonivy918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Homemade Goodness since 1978”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Thirty years says a lot about a place. The gelato is a creamy delight and with a great selection of flavors. I recommend sitting in and being served by the friendly staff. I felt like I was in Rome. The addition of the wafer the cute dishes and ambiance is so much nicer then those awful paper cups and plastic spoons. Its even open late when you just have to have something sweet. Al Gelato is my new addiction. Era delizioso!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keith02657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I would go there more often if they had Whole Wheat Pasta or Pizza Crust, but the food is so outstanding, that I go there and choose to get off of my heart healthy diet due to the fabulous food, bread and soups. I leave the Gelato, but you cannot find any better tasting Gelato in the US.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
432 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“So So Sauces”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fairly limited menu. Mostly pasta. Portions are large. The sauce was just average and that's really what the pasta is about. Would not rush back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Gelato also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Al Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing