We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Los Angeles
Post
Inbox
Search

“Friendly place - Pizza OK”

Lamonica's New York Pizza
Ranked #1,169 of 12,466 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Neighborhood: Westside
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

We ordered a large pizza (18 inch) for 21 USD plus 3 USD per topping. The pizza was ok but rather greasy - we had better pizza in the area. But the staff is great and efficient!!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank DeboSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 45 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2018

Got a slice of the Sicilian and it was really good! So good, that I had to order a second slice! The servers at the counter were friendly. The restaurant is decorated with NY subway signs and there is seating space and a stand up counter.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tinaNtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2018

This is the real deal! If you like NY style thin crust pizza - this is the "go to" choice. The balance between sauce cheese and crust is a symphony to behold! No frills dining - but hey, it's a pizza joint. Love the decorations that seem to have gotten from discarded Manhattan subway platforms. The staff is efficient, friendly and helpful. DEFINITELY worth a detour here if you have to get your NYC pizza fix satisfied!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vvfoodievv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

I was craving a Chicago-style stuffed pizza, but didn't feel like driving elsewhere while in Westwood, so I decided on New York style instead at Lamonica's.

I bought a slice of mushroom and a slice of pepperoni. They satisfied my appetite and tasted like genuine New York pizza, although not quite as good as John's of Bleecker Street, one of the last coal-fired brick oven pizzerias in NYC.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arbrebleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017 via mobile

This has been a Westwood institution for years. Great, fresh, awesome pizza. But a slice now is up to about $4/slice. It used to be half that!
Still a nice place to stop for a quick bite. Always good and the inside is old school N.Y. feel. I hope they never change it!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank IllTryAnythingTwice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamonica's New York Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Lamonica's New York Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing