We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hollywood Classic”
Review of Dan Tana's

Dan Tana's
Ranked #464 of 10,042 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Hollywood
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hollywood Classic”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Dan Tana's is an authentic Hollywood hangout, where Old meets New. The salads are excellent, and the steak is always perfect.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Activaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    63
    28
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I realize some have had trouble being seated, and we did have to wait a few minutes past our reservation time, but we were treated well, loved the food and atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Equisport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food but tourist-trap-like atmosphere and service”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My friend and I ate here at the suggestion of a relative of mine. The restaurant is VERY small, so it's not possible to not feel cramped in there. Not a place for private conversation, since neighboring tables can overhear each other. The waiters are the grumpy-old-man type you might find in touristy traps in Italy. They work on automatic pilot and don't seem to care to go the extra step to make the customer seem warmly welcomed, or that their needs will be taken care of.

My mate and I both ordered the straciatella soup, which was quite yummy and a nice way to start the meal without making yourself too full. My friend ordered the shrimp marinara and was very happy with it. I ordered veal scallopine "Carl Malden." It was 4 luscious pieces of thinly pounded veal, topped with a thin layer of eggplant, then laced with a beautiful white wine, butter, and caper sauce. Magnificent dish! Veal melted in my mouth. One complaint I have is that the menu has these creative names for the dishes - items like "shrimp scampi a la Jerry Buss" -- but does not include a description of the dish consists of. The customer is forced to ask the waiter what these cryptic names mean. No wonder the waiters are grumpy, having to recite the recipes for all these mystery items.

This is a go-to place if you have a hankerin' for Italian, you're in the neighborhood, and your willing to tolerate the tourist-trap-like atmosphere and service. For a serious dining experience, look elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesertDiva1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What is so special?”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have heard a lot about Dan Tana`s famous restaurant located in Hollywood. We want there on one Wednesday evening. Nothing special. The place was crowded and the waiter was very nice, but nothing else special we have experienced there. The restaurant itself is relatively small and old-fashioned, maybe some people like exactly this... We ate a pasta and a sward fish. Pasta was with too much sauce, really poor comparing to any good Italian restaurant. The fish was just ok, but far from any great experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valdothebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Was expecting more”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The atmosphere is wonderful. Not that I care, but you will see celebrities if you dine here.The service is spot on, I couldn't have asked for more.
Now for the food...not good. I was served scallops that were previously frozen. At the prices they charge, that is just unacceptable. The pasta was mediocre at best, & from what I could tell, nothing at our table could be described as delicious.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jgiorgianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan Tana's also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Dan Tana's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing