We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Solid Meal!”
Review of Polka

Polka
Ranked #885 of 9,980 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $16 - $22
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
ARCADIA, CA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Solid Meal!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

As noted in previous reviews, an unlikely site for a wonderful restaurant - a small corner strip shopping area in an obscure lower middle class neighborhood of Los Angeles is the site for this wonderful Polish restaurant that has become one of my family's favorites over many years. The new owner, Michael, has even succeeded in improving on the food and decor, which I previously thought wonderful. The soups are absolutely wonderful - I always feel a very warm pleasant sensation come over me with the first spoonful; to date, this is still the only place in the world where i will eat a bowl of tomato or cream of spinach soup. The main courses are very flavorful with the meat dishes and chicken dishes most delicious - the Kotlet is my personal favorite. The pudding dessert which comes with the meal is OK, but the crepes are delicious, and we always get them for a special occasion. To date, this fine restaurant does not have a liquor or beer and wine license, so we can bring our own wine - a big plus for me! Very highly recommended for a very special central/eastern European meal

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDEYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BRISBANE
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good hearty food”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We visited our family in the northeast part of L. A. on the 4th of July and were treated to the very best polish food from someone other than Dad. Yes good hearty soup and glumkies and pierogies,and the bigos platter is unbelievable ...and for the bold the chicken livers ...yummm
we had this food to go so I dont know about the dining room but i was told it is very nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Example of Ethnic Polish Dishes - Worth the Drive”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

An adventure for foodies for sure.... a small "whole in the wall" storefront café in an old low rent strip shopping corner on a mostly residential arterial street just off the freeway. Not a place you would expect good ethnic food but it is and everything is made to order so expect a wait. Not much room so tables are close together and while many languages were being spoken, likely you will get to know one of the other customers around you. Prices are on the high side ($13+ for lunch), but food was excellent and in good quantities. Definitely recommend the stuffed cabbage and cheese pirogues.... the desert crape (nalesniki) was good too. We split the "Royal" platter which was sort of a sampling of different entrées but agreed that when we return we will order the plate of 4 pirogues.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdsepic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife, our friends and I like the place. The food is generally authentic and very good. Everyone in our group liked their entree, but I suspect the crepes, nalesniki, were better than the pudding which I tried. We just did not have time for the crepes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CulverCityAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Home Style Polish Dishes”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The original owners moved back to Poland and the restaurant is now run by their nephews. They have refurbished the dining room, but it's still filled with tchotchkes. The food is as good as ever, very delicate soups, nice salad, and excellent entrees. Definitely a fun and unusual milieu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacques C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polka also viewed

 

Been to Polka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing