We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood La Brea Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hollywood La Brea Motel
Ranked #184 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
london, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great price and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in November as the first stop on a road trip around CA. Loved the location-two minutes from the beginning of the walk of fame and 5 minutes from the Chinese Theatre. Great base to explore LA from. Good and many parking spots. George and his staff were all friendly and flexible. They let us pay daily for the night which made things easier for us. The room was clean and we had enough space. Bathroom very good and clean. Maybe the towels are a little small... There is a jacuzzi which we did not get the chance to try! Breakfast is limited-coffee and tea at reception with doughnuts and cookies. A nice way to start the day!
The metro station is 7 minutes walk away and it is only one stop away from universal studios!
Overall, a very enjoyable stay at Hollywood La Brea Motel! We will definitely be back...

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kerenush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    79
    85
    26
    24
See reviews for
47
83
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Don't trust your stuff. Don't trust the morals of the staff. Even tho they were willing to help with getting me more pillows, they didn't help me with my problem. Bed was comfy. Room was cool enough. Air worked well. Tv was ok. Shower was ok. Hair dryer worked.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeninne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was staying here with a friend for 6 nights as part of a trek across the states. I have low expectations and only require a safe, well located place with a clean room with basic amenities. The La Brea provided this.

The hotel is, as others have stated, located very wll right at the start of the hollywood walk of fame. To get to other tourist areas is relatively simple with Taxis being cheap to hire.
The room itself was a reasonable size, we had a double bed each which had their sheets changed everyday. The room was clean and well attended to. Downside: the bathroom was pretty low quality meaning the shower was very weak and the light fitting looked ready to fall out the ceiling, the room was also in dire need of renovation but, as I say, we had low expectations o this wasn't such a problem.
There is no pool, there's a jacuzzi... thing... that we never saw switched on or being used but, being placed as it was right next to the car park, that's pretty understandable.
The owners were polite, they provided a snack of coffee and doughnuts for breakfast but the coffee is TERRIBLE and tasted like caramel tar, the doughnuts were...adequate. We saw no insects or dirt as others have reported.
Overall I'd say it's a good basic hotel to use as a base for sightseeing and the price is definitely competitive, but if you want it for any other purpose then I'd proceed with caution.

Room Tip: Try and get the top tier of rooms so you don't get a constant flow of people on the stairs or ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lechaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Only stayed for 1 night and I was worried about staying in a motel as some people had said the area was 'seedy' however we had no problem with this and I felt safe enough. The rooms are as expected for the price but the place is clean and has everything you need. We moved from here to the Roosevelt Hotel and wished we hadn't. It is great value for money and location if you want to be in the middle of Hollywood BLVD.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesano Maderno, Italia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The staff is very very friendly and kind, they helped me a lot, because I had trouble with my phone.. anyway, the motel is ok according the price and the location is very good! My room was a little bit noisy because was near the street but it was ok and the bed i very confortable!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GaiaZ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was over the moon with the location of this motel. After a less than happy experience at another property.
The Management /staff were very friendly and accommodating. My room was large, fresh and very clean.
At the end of my stay, the Manager looked after my luggage for the day, as I had a very late flight, that night and on my return to thr Motel, to collect my things, he called a Cab for me and assisted me with the luggage to the Cab.
I would reccomend this Motel to anyone that wants location and friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just cross the street and you will be in the beginning on the Walkf of Fame,l just 5 minutes away walking from Kodak or Chinese Theatre.

The hotel is quite simple, not very clean and kind of old. Anyway the owners are very kind even though their command of English is poor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjb_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#199 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Liberty Hotel
Hollywood Liberty Hotel
#189 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#158 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Cityview Inn & Suites
Hollywood Cityview Inn & Suites
#250 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
Rodeway Inn Hollywood
#195 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Hollywood
Comfort Inn Near Hollywood Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood La Brea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood La Brea Motel

Property: Hollywood La Brea Motel
Address: 7110 Hollywood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90046-3203
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood La Brea Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hollywood La Brea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing