We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite fresh fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Urth Caffe

Urth Caffe
Ranked #3 of 340 Coffee & Tea in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
NYC
Level Contributor
455 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Favorite fresh fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My daughter takes me here to show me just how much she loves this place and now I love it too. The crowd is very hip LA, artsy and akin to lower east side and Soho in NYC. Every time we are here thereis a police officer, the sheriff or someone of that caliber getting food which is a sure sign of how good it is. Had the green tea mixed with ice in a bubble tea style- so good; the Mditerranean platter and lentil soup :YumYum. Their coffee is aromatic and well brewed so grabbed a cappucino and a cookie for later in case my daughter didn't show for dinner. I have to say that I am a baker and this oatmeal raisin cookie was spectacular. Just the right consistency and crispiness ( I know my cookies). This trip I have to say they were so incredibly NICE and folded up the umbrellas and turned on the heaters outside. LA has been cold lately and this just made the whole experience, to be outside and comfortable was GREAT. Thank you to the manager.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    77
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over hyped but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Over priced over hyped over trendy, but the food and drinks are really good, i would recommend it and you could see entourage there

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Devin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Art District, must stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Shallom & Jilla Berkman are the owners of Urth Caffe, They started as a small coffee shop in Manhattan Beach 20yrs ago. They have grown to four locations, and a fifth being built in Pasadena. Their coffee & teas are the Best, not run of the mill. Their food is wonderful, they
even bake their own bread and pastries. All the Urth Caffes' are worth a visit. You order at
the counter, and your food is brought to your table. A bit noisy at the lunch hour.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucysadie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food, great ambiance. Eat here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The food is terrific and a great value. The servers are fun. The patrons are friendly. The outdoor seating is perfect for long lunches. This will become your favorite place for lunch, guaranteed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanoibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Oooh.... reminds me of Cafe Con Leche in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

On a recent trip to LA, my daughter says "Lets stop at Urth Caffe, they have the best coffee!" With all the congestion in LA plus running behind schedule, we reluctantly did. So worth the time and trouble. Their coffee is smooth and sweet. Reminds me so much of the coffee I enjoyed in Europe. Had the Spanish coffee... the best! Will definitely stop by here again and have lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuff82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urth Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Urth Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing