We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Ranked #127 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Required a hotel close to the Saban Theater-chose the Wilshire Crest
based on mostly glowing reviews and the Kosher breakfast offered was a big plus.
I arrived at the hotel at around 12 pm with official check in at 3 pm- was not able to get a room immediately,but the most gracious front desk lady ,assured me my room would be available shortly.Wasnt to unhappy to wait it out on the sunny front porch.Where I come from hadnt seen the sun in a while......
While I was out on the porch received a phone call and the phone was brought outside to me-a nice touch.
The room was spacious and clean,with a flat screen TV mounted on the wall-lots of cable channels to choose from- wow off to a good start !! caught up on an afternoon nap
( the mattress was pretty firm) and at around 7'ish strolled down to the Saban Theater to see Eyal Golan in concert-great first day !!
In a nutshell the Wilshire Crest is a very homely,quiet hotel in a decent location-close to
Fairfax,The Grove,Farmers market etc.
One thing to mention though- be sure to get a parking permit .I arrived on a Saturday and was assured I didnt need a permit over the weekends.I left early Monday morning and lo and behold a ticket for $63 was on the windshield of my rental car.Went back to the hotel and without any fuss or bother they kindly offered to take care of the ticket.Was much appreciated as probably I was half to blame, as I should have enquired about the permit on Sunday night.
All in all a good stay- would definately recommend the Wilshire and should I find myself in LA again-would come back and stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canuckle154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasy35, Guest Relations Manager at Wilshire Crest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2011

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that my staff was attentive to your needs and you were able to take advantage of our outdoor patio. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Thank you,
Aaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 419 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

This a quiet, no-frills hotel with a homely atmosphere which concentrates on the essentials that a visitor requires. The room was very clean, comfortable and extremely large, with free Wifi and a solid table which made it possible for me to get a lot of my work done there.

The bathroom had a great shower and bath with a generous supply of towels. Soap, shampoo, etc were replenished as required.

Breakfast comprised limitless supplies of coffee, delicious bagels, Danish pastries and fruit, which set me up well for the day.

There was a pleasant lounge and a verandah, where you could sit outside and - even in January - enjoy the Californian sun.

I thought the location was great. Just a five-minute walk to the Los Angeles County Museum, and not more than fifteen to the Farmer's Market and the Grove mall. I had been told I would need a car in LA, but found it very easy to get to wherever I wanted to go on foot or by bus.

I found the staff pleasant and helpful. I would have no hesitation returning here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampsteadCBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We had a great time at the hotel. It is in a great central location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Beds were great, rooms were quiet and clean. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Los Angeles!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYmilesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I stayed in the Whilshire for three weeks straight with my family and it was an amazing experience. Though not the fanciest of hotels, the Wilshire really has everything you need. The rooms were huge and clean, the beds were awesome, the location was central enough and the service was great. Aaron Tomaszewski, the young manager, is competent, friendly, accessible and completely "hands on". If you are looking for a homey stay for affordable prices - the Wilshire is a must!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yisrael613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed there for a week end with friends. The staff were amazing. Everyone was sooo accommodating. The room was large and clean. The breakfasts were filling and delicious.It helped make our stay so great. I highly recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sora18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

absolutely the best manager we ever experienced. could not do enough for us. beds were great with great pillows and duvee. we used the dining room for a private party for family, great atmosphere. 5 min walk to museums (LACMA and Le Brea Tar Pits).
easy walk to synagogue (on Fairfax) and Starbucks around the corner. what else does one need in life!!!
I needed a projector and the manager actually drove me around town to find the best rental then took the equipment back the day after we left town. Amazing personality to all the family.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Rooms very large and comfortable. Staff always very helpful and knowledgible.
Nice atmosphere and close to the centre. Hire car a necessity to get around.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike20342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
#200 of 355 in Los Angeles
199 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#34 of 355 in Los Angeles
834 reviews
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#135 of 355 in Los Angeles
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#93 of 355 in Los Angeles
457 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#57 of 355 in Los Angeles
641 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilshire Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilshire Crest Hotel

Address: 6301 Orange St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $131 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wilshire Crest Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wilshire Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing