We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilshire Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Ranked #121 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I recently spent 2 weekends at the Wilshire Crest. A friend and I visited Beverly Hills for a restaurant opening and were pleasantly surprised at this property. You truly cannot get a better hotel for this rate. In addition, parking was included with the permit that the hotel gives you at no cost to you. Very nice continental breakfast was served. Small staff but courteous and willing to assist with any need. Safe neighborhood and walking distance to many attractions.
I enjoyed my first weekend so much that I booked another with my husband and another couple - all were impressed and agreed with my recommendations.
No doubt, we will return!!! Thanks, Ross and Aaron for a great place to stay

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline-granny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    151
    50
    23
    16
See reviews for
111
96
63
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. For the location, you cannot get a better deal. Most other hotels in the area are MUCH more expensive, and I doubt they could be any better.

The location is centrally located for everything we did. The Grove/Farmers Market is walking distance from the hotel. It was a short drive to the Grammy Museum and the LACMA is around the corner. Hollywood Blvd and Sunset Strip are a 10 minute drive away. Beverly Hills is just a couple blocks away. We felt very safe in and around the hotel.

The room was very large and we had 2 queen size beds with FOUR great pillows on each. The beds were very comfortable and everything in the room was VERY CLEAN. We were in Room 205 which was on the court yard side of the hotel so there was no street noise. Do be aware that if you are on the second floor there is no elevator.

The included breakfast was perfect for us. It is more of a European type breakfast with cucumbers, tomatoes cottage cheese, hard boiled eggs, and bagels and a few sweets. There was also cold cereal and oatmeal available. There is coffee, tea, orange juice, and milk.

The staff was very nice. There is only street parking with a permit they provide and on Monday morning there is street cleaning so you cannot park on one side of the street between 9 and 12 am. When we got back to the hotel on Sunday evening, I could not find a parking place so the evening manager offered to move his car and gave me his spot. Since it was on the side that needed to be cleared by 9:00 am I went out in the morning to move my car and the day manager offered me his parking place and he found a different spot further down the block.

The room did not have a safe or a hair dryer in it, but I think I heard somewhere that you could request one from the front desk. We did not need it. There was an iron and ironing board in the room and plenty of hangers. There was also a small refrigerator which was very helpful. The A/C worked well but it was a little loud.

We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the courtyard to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel is located just south of Beverly Hills. Older average Hotel in need of upgrades. Quiet area, but with no onsite parking. Street parking with permit that you get at the hotel which also costs extra unless you have a disability placard. This makes finding a space difficult when returning to the hotel late at night. They have continental breakfast from 7-10am. Breakfast consists of, hard boiled eggs, cut tomatoes, raw zucchini, bagels, pastries, orange juice and coffee.

In room wi-fi and flat screen TV (no HD).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul10212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Wilshire Crest Hotel for 3 nights. The room and bathroom were clean. Housekeeping give you fresh towels each day. The room was warm but the air conditioner helped. Alan behind the counter was extremely helpful in booking cabs and giving us directions on how to get around LA. Easy walk to the Hop On, Hop Off Bus, Farmer's Market and The Grove. The staff were happy to hold on to our luggage for the day of check out, while we visited the sites before boarding a plane back home. The breakfast is basic, nothing too fancy. Just get up early enough to get to the bread, or you'll miss out on toast! Rooms don't have hairdryers but you can get one free of charge from the front desk to keep in your room during your stay. Would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 205 - No noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has spacious rooms, we had room 211 at the front of the hotel facing Orange Street, we were initially worried about noise but had no issues at all.

This hotel is definitely great value for money and for the budget traveller who is after a large clean room, with breakfast this is a good choice.

We got the hop on hop off bus which is a 5-7 minute walk away near the tar pits and is very handy for the grove and farmers market.

I agreed 100% with Geo's review a few before this one, the desk staff are helpful without being overly friendly, the rooms and amenities are showing signs of ageing and we also experienced rude people at breakfast some who thought it good to pile up their plates and then leave everything half eaten not leaving food for other guests.

Overall as I have touched on a well priced hotel in a good location. We would most likely look to stay nearer the sunset strip or middle of hollywood when we return. They had an excellence certificate from Trip Advisor demonstrated at check in but based on our experience I don't think it deserved that rating.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a lovely stay in this boutique style hotel. Located in West Central LA it's close to a lot of bars and restaurants and fairly easy to reach in LA traffic.

The room was clean, with a great bathroom, nice linen and blackouts. Not much of a view, but it's only a two story building (which is handy as there's no elevator). The reception staff were courteous, if a little abrupt and provided parking permits for street parking. The room itself was very large and had excellent facilities, a sofa and dining table, fast internet and a TV with a large number of cable channels. As a British person, I was unaware that you need to pull the faucet towards you in some American showers in order to get the water going, but the staff were happy to show me how to use it! A fairly normal selection was provided at breakfast along with papers.

Overall we really liked this hotel. It was convenient for the LA sights and was in a great neighborhood considering the relatively low price we paid. (We used hotels.com and paid 111 GBP per night).

Important things to know: you NEED a credit card in order to stay here as they take a large "incidentals" deposit and they will not accept debit.

Room Tip: Ask for room 209 if it's available. It's in the top corner and separated from the other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I had a good stay here, although we paid twice as much as we anticipated. When looking at the prices on TripAdvisor, we thought we would be spending $149 per night, when we were told we would be spending $149 per person per night. Despite that initial confusion, the rest of our stay was incredibly pleasant. The staff was very helpful in making sure we could find parking. The rooms are spacious, and come with handy bedside tables. The price is high, but you pay for included parking and wifi and a safe, central location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CityOfAngells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#123 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#94 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#75 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
#187 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#29 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilshire Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilshire Crest Hotel

Property: Wilshire Crest Hotel
Address: 6301 Orange St, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wilshire Crest Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wilshire Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing