We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Ranked #121 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Chula Vista, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here mid January to see a concert at the El Rey and to visit LACMA. The manager was helpful dealing with the lack of parking in the evening. They give you the option of parking at a bank across the street, and they move your car for you before it opens. We used this twice and were glad to not have to get up early and deal with it or the street cleaning schedule. We had a first floor room and should have requested a second floor as the floor above us was creaky and we had trouble sleeping. The folks above us arrived late and left early each day and we couldn't sleep through it. The nearby stairwell didn't help either. The room was not the cleanest or most comfortable I've been in, but you get what you pay for. Breakfast was the usual continental fair and the dining area was quite large. If we were to visit the area again, I'd probably look around for another option.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thos619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    159
    52
    23
    16
See reviews for
118
97
63
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Let me begin by staying I was not able to stay at the hotel. Unfortunately my child became very sick and I unexpectedly had to travel 2 hours back to San Diego. I called immediately upon hearing of my child's sudden illness and asked if the charge could be reversed. The manager told me that he has no control over the cancellation policy and that it was HotelGuides, the website I booked the room through, that would not make an exception. When I contacted HotelGuides they informed that this was not true and that they actually called the hotel to try to get Willshire Crest to make an exception in the case of a sick child. So the manager blatantly LIED to me. Plus he was rude over the phone. It says a lot about the credibility of a company when the manager lies and is unwilling to make an exception in these circumstances. It would have been nice if at least a partial reimbursement were offered. Very disappointing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasy35, Public Relations Manager at Wilshire Crest Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued Potential Guest,
I appreciate your honestly in saying that you in fact "DID NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL." Believe me nobody intentionally lied to you, many reservations done through a third party can not be refunded. In any event, I am sorry to hear that your child got ill and hope that they are doing better. We do have a cancellation policy. In fact our policy is pretty lenient. I apologize that you felt you were not treated as you should have been but once you are within 24 hours of your arrival we no longer accept cancealltions unless we are able to sell the room for that night.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I have now stayed at the Wilshire Crest in LA three times! I have to say that they don't disappoint. Since our first visit they've treated us like family, and with our third visit, I slipped a few times when I said to my family "we have to stop at home before we go to...", home meaning the hotel...

The beds are super comfy, the linens soft, and the atmosphere really pleasant. The staff and management go out of their way to make the stay enjoyable.

The location is perfect; very central and with easy access to wherever you need to go.

Room Tip: We've taken the adjoining rooms every trip and have enjoyed being able to separate or join the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasy35, Public Relations Manager at Wilshire Crest Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a great eviw of out hotel. We always look forward to you and your family's visit here. I am so gald that after all these years your stay with us gets better and better. See you soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. We walked to the Farmer's Market several times, and it was centrally located so easy to get different places in LA (if you have a car). Not the fanciest of hotels, but a clean and well run family run place that offers an excellent value, especially with the breakfast. We will definitely come back here when we visit LA again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KaperKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I definitely wouldn't call this place elegant. It is in a perfect location. Parking is fairly easy. Rooms are minimalist,slightly dated, clean, spacious and a bit noisy. Breakfast is fairly good for a continental one. Shared area is nice. Staff is very nice. Fairly good value. I would return if I got the rooms 20 percent cheaper, as the area is perfect (you don't want to spend all day driving in LA).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I recently stayed 4 nights at the Wilshire Crest. Location worked well, it's on the Hop On, Hop off bus route, trips to downtown and Santa Monica weren't too bad, overall as good a location you can get in Los Angeles.
Bed was very good. Bathroom was ok, the shower controls were very difficult, and you either got very hot, very mild or cold, and not a lot in between. .
Loved the complimentary continental breakfast and wi-fi, some of the other LA hotels should take a page out of the Wilshire's playbook!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GarethR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Friendly staff on arrival, nice large room - clean, comfortable & quiet. Basic breakfast - juices, tea, coffee, pastries, cereals but filled us up! Very good value for L.A. with free parking on the street. Good location in Hollywood / Beverley Hills

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jelfsy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#122 of 350 in Los Angeles
294 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#68 of 350 in Los Angeles
608 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#97 of 350 in Los Angeles
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
#189 of 350 in Los Angeles
192 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#39 of 350 in Los Angeles
803 reviews
Westside
The Carlyle Inn
The Carlyle Inn
#42 of 350 in Los Angeles
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilshire Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilshire Crest Hotel

Property: Wilshire Crest Hotel
Address: 6301 Orange St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wilshire Crest Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Wilshire Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing