We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hollywood Hills Hotel
Ranked #145 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wow!”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

i was having a hard time finding cheap accommodation in hollywood, without there being numerous reviews warning of bed bugs, and when i found this place it sounded okay, but was a little out of my budget. i went ahead and booked it anyway.
my room was huge!
it also had an incredible view out over hollywood and LA, oh it really took my breath away.
the hollywood hills hotel is just hotel rooms. the pool and laundry (and free internet) are down at the magic castle, but if you call the reception they'll come and pick you up right away.
from there you can easily walk to the walk of fame, chinese theater and madame tussauds.
the staff were all so nice, and really helpful!
they welcome you with a champagne glass full of apple cider (maybe this was just because i was under 21, who knows)
i had such a lovely stay.
i would highly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floralbrigades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    94
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
48
107
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We decided to come up to Hollywood from San Diego to get away and see some taping of shows. I looked online at all the different hotels. I've read horror stories of different hotel but thought I would give this one a shot. To my surprise and great satisfaction my choice to stay at this hotel was spot-on. The room was very clean, the bed was very very comfortable and the flat screen TV was a super plus. The room was decorated with pictures of movie stars and out the rear window I could see the giant Hollywood sign on the hill. I must say our stay was great. Oh yeah... If you're looking for a coffee maker, microwave and fridge just slide open the left side of the closet. We found that on the last day. I would and will recommend this hotel to everyone. And it is close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcmeRocket55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We live in the Hollywood Hills and are remodeling. Needing a place to stay for a couple of nights, we ended up at the Hollywood Hills Hotel. It is a dump. With the outside temperature over 100 degrees, the room heater would not shut off and the small bedroom air conditioner barely worked. There were other uncharming attributes to the room. However, the staff of the Magic Castle/ Hollywood Hills Hotel(s) -- they are jointly run with a single check in office -- was fabulous. They could teach many superior places how to handle problems. Although we will not recommend this place, we will recommend the service, the attitude and the manager's equitable solution. And, the view is stupendous.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2009

What a thrill it was to stay in this old hollywood style hideaway! Hidden in the hills of Hollywood, this hotel is remarkable. The view from our room was breathtaking. The pool is magnificant. The Continental Breakfast at the Magic Castle was "Delish". We especially enjoyed the scones! This hotel's biggest asset is their staff. The staff was more than helpful, and pleasant to deal with. No request was denied. Gretchen and Marcus were gracious and resourceful to recommend restaurants in the area. Even making reservations for us while we were on the road, so that when we got to the Hotel all was set! A shuttle service up and down the hill from your room to the Magic Castle is provided if necessary. Every staff member we interacted with was fun, cheerful and easy to deal with. They make you feel like a Celebrity! We definitely will make this place a yearly escape.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thrilln2travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

The Hollywood Hills Hotel is a treat. It is paired with the Magic Castle Hotel, which is where you check in and eat breakfast. This hotel is located in the steep, curving hills of the Hollywood Heights neighborhood, about two blocks north of Hollywood Boulevard. The scenery is gorgeous, as is the pool. The grounds at HHH are well tended, with walkways, waterfalls, lush greenery and stonework. Our room had a view of the hills to the east, with some wealthy neighbors nearby and the Griffith Observatory a little farther away. At the top of the driveway, there is a fantastic view of the Hollywood sign, very close compared to the view from Griffith Park, which is where many people seem to go to see it.

The service was excellent. The staff was very helpful and friendly and provided us with free minibar snacks when we arrived tired and hungry. Normally, minibar snacks are $1.

The breakfast selection was large and tasty. Fresh fruit that has been washed, scones, muffins, croissants, bread, yogurt, granola, hot and cold cereal, juice, milk, coffee (and flavor shots), tea. You have to go down to the Magic Castle Hotel to eat. The walk is lovely and safe – and steep. Rides are available, too, but we only used those to get back up the hill a couple of times when we were very tired or in a hurry.

The pool at the HHH was big and beautiful, particularly when compared to the little bitty pool at the Magic Castle Hotel. The HHH pool is not heated, but the one at Magic Castle is. Depending on the time of year you're going, it wouldn't matter. We were there in July, and the water was quite warm.

Our room: big. Inside the front door was the small kitchen and living room. The fridge/freezer (small, but not dorm-sized) was cold when we arrived. There was a pull-out sofa, coffee table, end tables, dining table and chairs, and entertainment center. Sliding glass doors led to the balcony, which was the length of the room. The balcony was rather narrow, however. Two glass doors with cellular shades separated the bedroom from the living room. The bedroom had two double beds, nightstand, dresser, chair, and closet. Another patio door leading to the balcony was off the bedroom. The bathroom was located off the bedroom. The bath had two sinks and a shower/tub combo with room at the back to sit or store your stuff. A hair dryer was provided. There was more than ample storage space for toiletries and beach towels. Shampoo was provided, even enough for us with lots of hair. Also provided were conditioner, bar soap, facial cleanser, body wash, and some other girly stuff that I can't remember.

The linens and towels were very white and the beds were comfy. The housekeeping staff fluffed the pillows in a decorative way, which was a fun touch.

I wouldn't say the room was cleaned to perfection every day, but we were there for five nights, and whatever dirt was in the corner of the bathroom was definitely ours.

Some miscellany: The room was air conditioned, and the AC was not loud, which was nice. It was a quiet place, except when people came back to their rooms at night and chatted (or laughed or yelled) on the walk to their rooms. Parking was odd. The driveway and parking areas are quite narrow and twisty-turny, so you definitely need to pay attention. Parking spaces are assigned and are not necessarily across from your room. Internet is only available at the Magic Castle Hotel down the hill, which I wasn't crazy about, but it forced me to do things rather than get caught up in emails, facebook, etc. It would have been nice, though, to be able to double-check directions online or check traffic updates (sigalert.com--very useful) before we left. Definitely go to Yamashiro Restaurant up the hill. The sushi was fantastic, and their desserts are heavenly. Any attire is acceptable. We saw people in shorts, jeans, and evening wear. Even my 15-year-old who is convinced the whole world is watching (and criticizing) her felt comfortable there.

In all, this was a great place. It's an old Hollywood hotel with real charm and homey elegance. I had looked at other places closer to Hollywood Blvd. for similar cost, and I'm glad we chose this place. After you've walked down Hollywood Blvd. once, you don't really need to ever again. It's busy and loud and crowded and fun, but it's definitely a been-there, done-that experience, so being away from the noise and people was good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

The Hollywood Hills Hotel was an absolute gem! Location could not be better for sightseeing (just 5 mins. walk from Hollywood Boulevard & Chinese Theater). The staff were super-friendly and helpful (and we got upgraded at check-in!). The room was very big and clean (comfy bed!), had a balcony, a kitchen and 2 televisions .... and THE most amazing view of LA!
The hotel grounds were really pretty, as was the pool area. The pool was a lifesaver in the hot California climate!
The only "downside" was the location; even though it´s in the middle of Hollywood, it IS located in the Hollywood Hills, which means it´s quite a hike up to the actual hotel (check-in is at the Magic Castle hotel, and breakfast is also served there). Luckily the staff are available to drive you up and down upon request, so not a big problem (for us anyway). And if you have a car, you can park it right next to your room.
It was amazing to find such a peaceful & quiet hotel in the middle of Hollywood. This will definitely be my hotel next time I´m in LA! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kp1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed the location as our base in LA.

Views from our balcony were excellent, combining both hill and city scapes.

We had a 1 bed apartment, and it was spacious. Breakfast is 10 mins walk down the road at the Magic Castle, quite basic but fresh and tasty.

Wifi in Magic Castle but not in apartments (free)

Staff friendly and helpful, would stay again.

Pool looked nice but unfortunately not cleaned up so couldnt use it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KR_EDINBURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Highland Gardens Hotel
#209 of 351 in Los Angeles
261 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#185 of 351 in Los Angeles
377 reviews
Central L.A
Best Western Hollywood Plaza Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,115 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hills Hotel

Property: Hollywood Hills Hotel
Address: 1999 N Sycamore Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068-3782
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Hills Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hollywood Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hollywood Hills
Hollywood Hills Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing