We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hollywood Hills Hotel
Ranked #150 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our second stay at the Hollywood Hills Hotel was a better experience than the first one. The only issue we had was addressed, as the room was a lot cleaner than the one we had in 2012. It had a fully equipped kitchenette, and a balcony offering a beautiful view of Los Angeles. The equipment is still dated, but it's definitely not a problem when the room is well maintained and functional.

What makes the stay a pleasant experience is the location up in the hills, quiet but really close to the Hollywood Highland station. The staff was as nice, dynamic and helpful as the last time. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank soulhoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 240 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

We loved our stay at this hotel. The room was nice, even if it a little old. What really made our stay great was the outstanding service. The front desk staff was very welcoming and friendly and remembered which room we were in when we went through the lobby again hours later (with a nearly full hotel). Free shuttle from the top of the hill to the lobby (you'll see why this is helpful) and the trays available for breakfast allow you to take the food back to your room so not everyone needs to be ready at the same time to eat. We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Once you park your car, leave it if at all possible and take the shuttle. Only a short one block wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel isn't so much about the actual rooms - it's about the property. First off, you check-in at the Magic Castle, and your Continental Breakfast is at the Castle lobby/pool area - wonderful. The food offerings, juice, etc. are okay, but eating by the pool is great. The Castle also provides free snacks/candy and soda 24/7, and we used that feature alot. One problem with our stay was that the front desk worker, Kevin, was a bit of a no-mind. He ran our debit card as credit, and it was declined. We had enough funds, but because of the way he did it, the Salem, Mass bank automatically prevented the transaction since it was made in Cali - some bank protocol that kevin should've known about. Luckily I had enough cash on me to pay for the rooms (suites, actually), and after a 45 minute debacle where Kevin had to bother his off-duty manager to clue him in to what needed to be done, we were able to get our room keys.

The Suites overlooked both the Hollywood hills and city of LA. The decks were fantastic. Accommodations were okay - no big flat screen, and no wi-fi, but there was a cable to go from our computers to a modem. The kitchens were alright, and stocked with dishes, etc, for two. My fridge was small, but our other suite had a bigger fridge. Housekeeping seemed to only come on the early-side, so if we left the rooms later, we didn't get service, although we could have called for it.

The property is on the grounds of Yamashiro, a premier Japanese eatery nestled amongst the Hollywood Hills. The property goes all the way to the bottom of the mountain, to the Hollywood Blvd area. The HHH pool is one of the best, ever. Twelve feet deep at one end, and the patio area is beautiful, with tropical plants everywhere. This is a gated facility, atop a mountain - great security. I swear by this place, and urge you all to try it before it changes.

One more thing - to get from your room to the Magic Castle (or Castle to room), there's a complimentary shuttle, which runs 24/7 - take advantage of it to hit Hollywood Blvd, or The Strip, have few drinks, and not have to drive back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, and alot depends on view, either Hills, City/Hills, or Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Had an excellent stay at the Hollywood Hills Hotel (part of the Magic Castle Hotel). Nick, Nick D, Gretchen and the girls probably provided us with the best customer service we have ever experienced at an individual hotel.
The Hollywood Hills itself was up the hill with a lovely little pool and big rooms – although they could possibly need an upgrade soon. The room was very large with a kitchenette. Although it was quite a walk up the hill, the hotel operates a free shuttle should it be required. Both pools are nice (magic castle one being heated). The free breakfast and snacks are another added bonus. Can’t recommend this place highly enough – if only we could pick this hotel up and take it everywhere with us!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freddiekuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is my home away from home in Los Angeles, the staff are super friendly and the rooms, though a little old and worn, have everything you need, and an amazing view!! great value for the money and actual walking distance from everything in Hollywood. A hidden gem!

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vindens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was very nervous after reading other reviews, but really wanted Hollywood area lodging somewhat removed from the street noise. The Hollywood Hills turned out to be a delightful discovery. Yes, it is an older structure, and has some dingy aspects. But our room (504) was clean and comfortable.
Pros: Absolutely amazing views. Staff are incredibly responsive, friendly, helpful. Great pool area with new loungers. Comfy beds., Kitchenettes. Windows that open and a great cross breeze. Big balcony. Secure, gated location. Unique aspects-the pagoda by the pool. Good breakfast. Wifi at Magic Castle. 2 blocks from Hollywood Blvd., CVS pharmacy, restaurants.

Cons: Check-in at bottom of hill in Magic Castle. The road to exit the property by car or foot looks like it will be lucky to last till the next seismic tremor. There are stairways coming down from up above the property that end in mid air. No wi-fi in room (there is ethernet connection). Some of the furnishing were old and dingy. Older tv. Definitely a strenuous walk from room parking to room with luggage. This is not a place for the lame or infirm.

I loved the property and will go back when I am in Hollywood. I could sit on that balcony or by the pool all day relaxing!

Room Tip: City view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at the Hollywood Hills Hotel and Apartments for 3 nights. We arrived a few hours early to see if we could leave our luggage and car. They were very gracious and called housekeeping to have our room cleaned next. We were given complimentary drinks while we waited poolside at the Magic Castle hotel. A few minutes later we were given keycards to our room and secured parking area.
The room was enormous! We had a Studio Apt. (#405) with a large comfortable bed, Fully equipped kitchen, living room area and an enormous private balcony with Views of the Skyline of L A and the hills surrounding us. All of this for $159. a night! Amazing! We did have to pay an additional $11 a night for parking. (Cheap by L A standards.)
We had access to the pool just a few feet from our door. and complimentary snacks and drinks at the Magic Castle. To top it off we had a complimentary breakfast every morning poolside at the Magic Castle. The Castle was located on Franklin St. just below the apartments. This is also where you check-in.
The only criticisms I would have is the baseboards in the bath looked like they had not been cleaned in a long time and, The TV had sound issues.
Would I stay there again? In a minute!

Room Tip: Our room #405 had great city views, and was very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeNdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Highland Gardens Hotel
#217 of 355 in Los Angeles
280 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Central L.A
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,168 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hills Hotel

Address: 1999 N Sycamore Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068-3782
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $79 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Hills Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hollywood Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hollywood Hills
Hollywood Hills Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing