We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd.
Ranked #119 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This lower cost hotel is right in the heart of the Echo Park/Silver Lake area. Tons of delicious ethnic restaurants are within walking distance. Lots of vintage and specialty shops are within walking distance. A 5 K walk around the Silver Lake water reservoir is not to be missed. Gorgeous homes line the hills surrounding the reservoir. The rooms are comfortable, no pets allowed which is great for allergic me. A bonus is the gated indoor parking as the area is quite busy. The morning breakfast is enough to keep one going throughout the day, with waffles, eggs, bacon, sausages, bagels, toast, fruit, etc. We took the tray from the room, filled it, and then ate back to the room. The hotel is close to downtown locations, Hollywood, and the beaches, such as Malibu and Venice Beach. We're returning in the fall.

Room Tip: Some rooms allow smoking. Non smoking rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lagunaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd., responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience at the Comfort Inn Los Angeles.We strive on a daily basis to provide all of our valuable guests with the best product and service possible, it is truly rewarding to hear excellent feedback from a valuable guest that you are.
Please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations at 213-413-8222.
Once again thank you for your business and looking forward to your next stay with us in the near future.
Sincerely,
Magaly Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    162
    78
    28
    22
See reviews for
89
135
29
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed only 1 night and it was great for that. I found that the rooms, although a good size, we're very dated and had a bit of an odour. Also there was allot of street noise. I wouldn't want to stay for an extended period but would definitely recommend for a pit stop. The location was easy access and the parking was easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd., responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience while staying in our property. We strive on a daily basis to make all of guest stay the best and most comfortable possible.Please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations 213-413-8222.
Thank you again for your business and looking forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Magaly Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I took my 83 year old mother on her first visit to California. Our first stop was the Hollywood area. I wanted to find a reasonably priced hotel near The Hollywood Walk of Fame, Beverly Hills, etc. Despite the negative reviews about this hotel, I relied on Choice Hotels standing in the industry and took a chance. I wasn't sorry! The price was good for the area (they gave my Mom a senior rate), they have FREE garage parking, and a free HOT breakfast. If you have a car, the location is great. I think they're on the bus route, so public transportation is probably available. The neighborhood looks a bit sketchy, but it was quiet and we hardly saw anyone. I walked across the street to a few of the local stores for and they were fine. The renovations are just about complete, so we didn't have any problems like some other reviewers did. The room was large, clean and had a refrigerator and microwave. (The hallway carpets were old and dirty, but I'm sure they're going to be replaced soon.) The other guests staying at the hotel were mostly families and Europeans. All in all, a very good choice!

Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd., responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear guest:
It is truly rewarding to hear great feedback from our valuable guests. Please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations 213-413-8222.
Looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Magaly Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed 3 nights.

The staff were great and they obviously take a great deal of pride in what they do.

The location, though a long way from downtown LA is reasonably easy to get to.

Our room - obviously recently renovated - was spotless. And it was quiet.

Parking for our vehicle, underneath the building, was secure, convenient and FREE - something other places want to charge money for.

The rate - about $95 (plus tax) was excellent.

The breakfast included in the room price was almost as good as you'd get in a 5 star Hotel and included cooked food.

So, there was a bit of renovation still going on just outside the lift on our floor - but it wasn't a big deal.

Frankly - this was one of the best Motel type stays we've ever had anywhere and it represented good value - especially when compared to some of the other places we stayed on our vistit to USA.

Room Tip: We didn't check out other floors - but floor 2 where we was had no renovation problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denboa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd., responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was, it is truly rewarding to hear great feedback from our guests, we strive on a daily basis to provide all of our valuable guest with the best service and product possible.
Please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations 213-413-8222
Looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future again.
Sincerely,
Magaly Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We found heavy renovation works in the hotel, especially on our floor (see the pictures), which made our stay completely uncomfortable.There were traces of the construction works also in the room, with stains on the carpet.
The hotel just apologized about the current situation with a note in the elevator sayng "the rates have been already adjusted". Thank you, but those late apologizes brought us nothing. It would have been much better for us to know it at the time we booked or shortly after that, because actually I would have paid rather more in another hotel and been accomodated better than this.
Besides, the room was very noisy, overlooking Sunset Blvd, and quite far from being in good conditions.
Location and free parking are the only good things.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanvean76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd., responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear guest:
First of all thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience while staying st our property. I am really sorry for the inconvenience and unfortunately this is part of our renovation process, pardon our dust and noise but we are doing this renovation for all of our guests, we work realy hard to provide all of our guest with the best product and service possible.Hopefully you give us the opportunity to have you stay with us in the near future once this process is complete.
Thank you again for your business and of course for your understanding.
Sincerely,
Magaly Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We booked this on-line to stay for 3 nights while visiting our son in LA. He lives in the Silver Lake neighborhood and the location was very convenient. Maybe try this hotel in a year, but not now. There was no mention of renovations (heavy construction) when I booked on-line or I would not have booked here. There was a piece of paper taped on the elevator door stating there were renovations, but a little late for us.

Front desk guy was okay when we checked in. No mention of what we were in for. When we stepped off the elevator at the second floor, wow, plastic and tape covered the entire floor of the hallway, plastic around the light fixtures and construction mud on the wall. Yuck. Our room had plenty of space but not well equipped. It felt like the room had been prepped for reno with shelves, etc removed and then rented out even though it wasn't complete. No baseboards, etc.

We were only there to sleep as we were spending most of our time with our son, so we stayed. I like to unpack, iron any suitcase wrinkles and hang things up. The iron was literally bolted on the ironing board with a cord connecting the iron to the bolts. Made it tough to iron. The closet was minuscule and not at all appropriate.

The morning we checked out, the darned fire alarm went off and it was so loud! (which is good if there's a fire, but it seems like one of the construction guys set it off and thought it was hilarious) Took awhile for them to get it turned off and then the elevators were also turned off. Just a pain having to lug all our bags down the stairs. Not any apologies or recognition of the inconvenience when I checked out. Don't think they cared.

I do think the rate was less than I expected and I assume that was to accommodate the renovation issues. I would have appreciated a heads up however at the time I booked about how significant the renovation as I would have booked elsewhere.

Even though this is so convenient to my son, I will look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo4029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd., responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest:
First let me thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was at the Comfort Inn Los Angeles. Sorry for any inconveniences caused during your stay due to our renovations, hopefully you give us the opportunity to stay with us in the near future once we are done with renovations. We completely understand how inconvenient this renovation could be for all of our valuable guests, on the other hand we know that once this process is complete, we will be offering a better product to all of our valuable guests like yourself.
Please feel free to contact us in the near future for future reservation 213-413-8222.
Thank you for your understanding and hoping to have your business again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Magaly Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The room stank like cigarettes even though I pre-paid for a non-smoking room. The first thing they need to fix during a renovation is broken exterior water run-offs/roof drainage that drains directly outside of the windows, making it impossible to fall asleep (things like that don't just break in a day -- I'd say it's been broken for a while now and maintenance was just lazy lazy lazy). The front desk guy who came to check out the problem (probably maintenance) was unhelpful and seemed to try to do/say anything that would save him work. Though the girls during the mornings/evenings were kind/nice, they seemed a bit clueless/don't have the power to make decisions. All things considered, it was an absolute waste of money.
The only good thing like the others mentioned were free parking & breakfast (not that the breakfast was good, it was just that they had one). But it still wasn't worth the hassle and lack of sleep.
In my opinion, they should not have even rented the room out to avoid poor reviews. Poor management.

Room Tip: Avoid room 212. ALL the rain water gets dumped right outside the windows of this room and it's r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zapatamagaly, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd., responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest:
First let me apologize for the poor experience you had while staying at our property. Due to rennovations going on in our hotel, we understand how unconfortable this could be for some of our guests and we appreciate all of our valuable guests for their understanding and patience. Hopefully you give us the opportunity in the future once rennovation is done, I am sure we will meet your expectations.
Please feel free to contact us directly for future reservations 213-413-8222
Sorry once again and hopefully we get to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Magaly Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#107 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd.

Property: Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd.
Address: 2717 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90026-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Los Angeles / West Sunset Blvd. Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing