We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best mole menu anywhere”

Rocio's Mole De Los Dioses
Ranked #3,406 of 10,090 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: (818) 252-6415
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best mole menu anywhere”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Visiting relatives in southern california who told us we had to try this incredible restaurant that specializes in moles. Boy were they right. Rocios has the most extensive set of mole options I have ever seen in any restaurant, is definitely worth a visit. They make their own cactus tortillas and chips which were out of this world.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maadiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If you love mole, you gotta make the trip here”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I had to mapquest how to get here - who goes to Sunland? - but if you love mole, it is definitely worth the trip. The Oaxaqueno mole is excellent but even better is the fact that Rocio invents many interesting non-traditional moles such as pistachio and tequila. I had the mancha-manteles and it was excellent: nuanced flavor and a perfect level of spiciness. The service was good, the draft beers were great -- oh, and the nopal salad was also fabulous. Having just returned from a visit to Oaxaca, I have to say that this was better than any mole I ate there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best mole in town”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent restaurant, the mole is the best I've had. Service is superb, outside seating is preferable. A most try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afgm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food in a small place”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was here yesterday; 4.8.13 with my family. there were six of us, a big group for such a small place but we were quickly accommodated. I had the cactus water with pineapple juice. it is so good. my sister had the horchata water which comes with pumpkin seeds. also very delicious. I ordered the chicken enmolada. it was the best mole I have ever tasted, layered over two chicken enchiladas. the taste is excellent. Mole is a dish that comes from Aztec cuisine and it truly tastes like mole of the gods as their restaurant name proclaims. my wife had the fish tacos. which were also quite good - I had a taste. finding the restaurant might be the trickiest part of going to Rocio's mole de los dioses as it is hidden away in an industrial area in the city of Bell. yes that city of Bell.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Svaldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Amazing Moles! Don't Miss It If You Like Mexican Food”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We snagged this place near the Burbank airport from Trip Advisor and what a find it was! Located in a strip mall in a pleasant but unpretentious location, the restaurant astounded us with the superb moles (Mexican sauces) -- about 20 different kinds prepared by the owner-chef Rocio, who is a magician! We tried a total of about 5 different ones between appetizers and entrees. The Mancha Manteles and Oaxaquena were fabulously flavorful, and all the others delicious. The menu is pretty simple, with a few proteins and veggie main courses to be combined with the moles. Rocio's serves nopal (cactus fruit) corn tortillas made in house which are bright green and very good. Wow!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocio's Mole De Los Dioses also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Rocio's Mole De Los Dioses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing