We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
13
27
18
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
27
18
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venice beach santa monica would stay again short walk kitchenette starbucks
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 66 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2016

This is a tough one to write...it is a "Motel" and looked creepy and ghetto from the outside. In fact, had seen photos beforehand, I'm not sure I would've booked here in the first place. But it was 3.5/5 on Tripadvisor and Yelp, and once you pull into the parking lot its a lot nicer overall. $136 total for Saturday night on Halloween weekend...it was a relatively good deal in the area.

PROS:
-Surprisingly quiet room for being so close to Washington Blvd.
-Clean room and clean bathroom
-Microwave, Fridge, Coffee maker,
-Toiletries
-Nice bed
-40 inch LCD
-Free parking
-Walking distance to Starbucks, restaurants and few bars, I recommend Firestone.

CONS:
-It looks creepy from the outside.
-Some areas in the room could use some fresh paint.
-Front window does not open(but the bathroom window does)

Conclusion: A decent and affordable place to stay 1-3 nights if you just need place to crash. You just have to mentally get past the creepy motel exterior. If they repainted in lighter colors with a 50s-60s "Madmen" style, and got a new retro-style sign, it would significantly increase the charm and be a huge overall improvement. The outside is creepy, but there is a Starbucks and In-N-Out across the street, and white girls are walking alone at night so you know its a still a safe area.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank SwingerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016

This was our first motel of our US holiday. After a long flight we expected something better for the price. The area was not very nice didn't feel safe. The room was small and had an Indian takeaway left from someone else in the microwave!! The bathroom window when you opened it had mesh which could easily be taken off and someone could climb in during the night.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe0134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this motel (begrungingly only for financial reasons), and friends who we were meant to stay with cancelled on us last minute, so we stayed here purely cause it was cheap. I honestly expected a dump.
It was located a few blocks from Venice beach and on busy roads that take you to Santa Monica. Across was Starbucks and in and out burger.
The room itself was larger than what I expected, and clean. It was serviced everyday with clean towels, and had cable tv, wifi and fridge, was was great. Once you get over the initial shock of the look of the place, it was surprisingly fine, and safe to stay. We hired a car the entire time so transport wasn't an issue. The only thing was they were very strict with late checkout, so we had to be out by 11am.
Overall, we got what we paid for, cheap, did the job, location was good, and rooms were cleaned every day. Not many motels do that.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank danski2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

This is a great place close to Venice Beach. The rooms are clean, large enough and modern. There is parking and free wifi. Though on the Washington boulevard, no disturbances or unwelcomed guests. I felt safe and the numerous food chains and restaurants on the same street made it even better. We walked to Venice Beach back and forth. It's a nice place I would recommend though no pool.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatris74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2016

Located in a very nice & quiet area close to the beach, a clean & tidy motel well taken care of. Our large room included a king bed,
writing desk & chair, a kitchen area with sink, fridge, microwave, even iron & board. Of course, a/c, 42'' TV and free Wi-Fi. Parking on site. Overall, a good value.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews