We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay, but next time I would spend a little more for something nicer.”
Review of Encore Motel

Encore Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Encore Motel
Ranked #150 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place is very affordable and in a decent location, with free parking, free WiFi, and a Starbucks, Costco, In-N-Out Burger within easy walking distance. The beach is a short drive (or a long walk) from here. Room is pretty clean, but not attractive. There's a nice big Vizio HDTV which we didn't use, but the WiFi worked well, so we didn't need the TV. Despite being on a busy road, our room was quiet. (We stayed in room 111.) Bed was reasonably comfortable. There was no blanket, just the sheets and a bedspread. Luckily, the heat worked, so we were comfortable enough.

Staff was very friendly, though the signs at the check-in counter give you the impression that some pretty sketchy people stay at this hotel with some regularity. We saw no sketchy people on our two night stay. We did, however, overhear some sex and surprisingly clear phone conversations from our neighbors. So privacy is maybe a weak point here.

The other frustration for me was the shower. Tap water from the faucet was piping hot, but the water from the shower head never made it past lukewarm, even at the hottest setting. On a cold day, a lukewarm shower just feels lousy to me. And it was cold in LA.

Electrical outlets are in short supply and inconveniently located, at least in our room. Nowadays, I think many travelers are looking for a place near the bedside to plug in a phone, maybe a laptop too. Not possible here.

Our stay was fine, it's really not a bad place, and the staff was very kind. It just feels like a cheap motel, which I suppose is all it claims to be.

Room Tip: We stayed in 111, which is off the main street and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 55 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had read about the porn problem this motel has and thought it was a bit of a joke. Then we arrived. We put on the TV and it goes straight to a porn channel. We then saw that there are instructions on how to use the TV beside the bed. IF YOU FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS you do not get porn immediately. If you are a family, then do not let your children turn on the TV without you – or they will go straight to the porn.
Otherwise the motel is fine. It is cheap, parking for every car, with a service-oriented owner. They were helpful in dealing with every request we made and were flexible in our departure time – which we appreciated. The room itself is slight odd as there are no cupboards. There are 2 bedside cabinets and one small high shelf in the kitchen where you can hang clothes and put other clothes on top, but that is it. There is nowhere to put suitcases – so we didn't bother unpacking and left our clothes in our bags on the floor. The kitchenette has the very basics in it, the shower is fine. Basically you get what you pay for.
The motel is in an OK neighbourhood (not great, just OK). It is about a 40 minute stroll down to Marina del Rey end of Venice Beach and the boardwalk up to Santa Monica. The heart of the bizarreness of Venice Beach (with the body builders, freak shows – yes really – and medicinal marijuana sellers) is another 15 minutes walk along the boardwalk.
The beach at the end of Washington Blvd is very large, and there are loads of bars and restaurants. However around the motel itself there is very little: a couple of bars, a chain coffee store (Starbucks maybe?) opposite, a convenience store around the corner, and a strip mall with a taco place, a burger place and something else (can't remember and didn't go). In short it is much better if you get away from where the motel is – then the neighbourhood improves slightly, and there are yoga places, other malls etc...
It was fine for the price – you get what you pay for. We probably wouldn’t stay there again because it is too far to walk to the beach, and not the nicest walk back at night. Also as both of us like a drink we don't tend to drive at night. Which meant getting lots of taxi’s. Actually for the same reason we probably wouldn’t go back to LA as you have to drive so far to go anywhere!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This motel was in a really great location, close to the beach/starbucks/costco/everything else you could need.

Room was very clean and the a/c worked well. The staff were super friendly, they saw that we were going to the beach and offered us complimentary beach towels to use.

Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay close to the beach on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

very small , a bit funky clean older style motel, price was fair, friendly staff. ,minutes from Venice pier to the ocean.. ,

Room Tip: on tight budget and room fit my needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank douglas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank J-Reinhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmscherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Jolly Roger Hotel
Jolly Roger Hotel
#10 of 11 in Marina del Rey
247 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#34 of 36 in Santa Monica
255 reviews
Venice
Ramada Marina Del Rey
Ramada Marina Del Rey
#8 of 11 in Marina del Rey
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Super 8 Los Angeles-Culver City Area
Santa Monica
Palm Motel
Palm Motel
#35 of 36 in Santa Monica
44 reviews
Santa Monica
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#28 of 36 in Santa Monica
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Motel

Address: 13432 Washington Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $112 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Encore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing