We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Ranked #163 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I paid 100$ for a night not at all worth it.
If you are offered about 40-50$ they stay there else dont bother.
Very old small room,rooms were not painted, taps in bathroom were broken. Terrible breakfast. They sent us to a small hotel nearby for breakfast which was awfully dirty.
1 gud thing is metro train in near by.

Room Tip: Stay here if you get it for 30 - 40$ per night else dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest Traveler, We appreciate your review. We strive to exceed guest expectations. We include free parking, WiFi, HBO/Cable TV, hot breakfast and in-room coffee at no extra cost to the guest. We regret that we were unable to exceed expectations with you on your visit. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    141
    116
    41
    54
See reviews for
110
132
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights (what a waste of my time and money!) with my sister. We are 2 females in our 20s and were given the very front room to stay in. The front room, meaning practically staying on the footpath! My bed was in line with the footpath and the noise at night was TERRIBLE! I understand it's 'Hollywood' and it's not the safest of areas, but I felt SO unsafe that I didn't sleep for 2 nights in fear of the fighting and the noise which was happening right NEXT to my window. There was a small gate out the front of the motel that had no lock or anything so anybody is pretty much free to open it and walk in! The reception desk however was always locked and someone would only open it if you rung the bell...how convenient!

The room smelt BADLY on some sort of nasty chemical and the bathroom was run down, dirty and very old!

Please, do yourself a favour and pay that little bit more and DON'T stay here. Hollywood Blvd. is not what it appears to be on the TV and I am disappointed I found that out the hard way!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review. We strive to exceed guest expectations and provide the most value for the guest for the investment they are making. Los Angeles is a busy, loud and Metropolitan city and that is something we cannot control. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

First of all, everyone has to know, in Hollywood all hotels are expensive. You just have to find which is correct to your wallet & needs. This hotel absolutey fair with their prices, compare what you get it for. True, parking is very necessitous. Late evening you can parking in fron of the hotel on the pathway. Hotel need some renovation, especially bathroom. Breakfast just in the next builiding. We spent 3 nights in room No.1. Windows look to main street, very loud, first night was very hard to fall asleep. I wanted to change, but I decide to try all kind of hotel rooms, while we spent 18days in Arizona & California, so everywhere I accept what they gave to us. Finally, I could recommend this hotel, if you don't want to spend there your daytime :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyuciful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest, We appreciate your thoughtful and honest review. We are glad you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you again. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

please just take my word for it and DO NOT stay here. The pictures of the hotel that is shown on there website are not really what the hotel looks like. It is severely ran down and in need of an update. The only good thing about this hotel was the breakfast next door. There was even a very soft spot in the floor in the room that we stayed in and we were afraid we would fall through it. I paid for 3 nights and only stayed for 1 night and couldn't get my money back for the other 2. Oh well it was a costly lesson but I will consult Tripadvisor form now on before I book a hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We strive to exceed guest expectations with every guest. We are regretful we were unable to do so in your case. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed her with my girlfriend on a saturday night. The location is great a few short steps to the metro that will take you anywhere. The door lock was really weird you had to put the keycard back into the lock to get it to lock and they did not tell us about that. There was oil all over EVERYTHING in the room and by oil i mean like oil that would be used to clean wood, it was everywhere on the TV the lamps, it was pretty nasty i set my phone in it. The woman and man that run the place are very nice. And overall very clean. The breakfast is in a building next to the hotel in a taco shop and is buffet style, it was not the best but the coffee was hot. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Make sure to check that door is locked when leaving
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylewinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Kyle, We appreciate your thoughtful and honest review. We strive to exceed guest expectations for a budget price. We look forward to seeing you again at the Downtowner. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I booked online, my session expired, entered my info again but stupidly forgot to change the date.. so I booked a room for the wrong night!

--CHECKING IN: The male owner, Bharat, was nice enough to let me check in without having to pay extra after we discovered that I booked the wrong night! THANK GOODNESS!! That alone deserves 5 stars. The only downfall to that: all the rooms were booked so we stayed at the apartments next door.

--ROOM *For the apartment room only*: Right next door to Hollywood Downtowner is a small apartment building. You need THREE separate keys to get in. First door gets you inside the main hallway, second door leads you to another hallway with 2 doors, then the third key gets you into the bedroom. I believe the other door was the owner's apartment. It's pretty much a bedroom that he uses as a hotel room with a (comfortable) king bed, bathroom, table and dressers. No fridge or microwave. Hair dryer available. Had to ask for iron + board. It was very clean! We didn't get one of those hotel comforters, but a real, thick comforter! TV had HBO and ESPN channels. It was really cold in there, but there's a heater we left on during our stay. The bathroom was always SO COLD because the windows are the weird type that doesn't close all the way. The bathroom looked exceptionally clean! No balcony =[

It's more of a "staying over at a friends house in the guest room" feel rather than staying at a hotel. I was kinda bummed that we didn't get the hotel room experience because of my mistake, but we got a clean bedroom to stay in and that's all we needed: a place to sleep and shower for just about $100!

We didn't know how to work the TV and Bharat happily came in to help us out. He also kept asking "is everything okay, is this okay for you guys, do you need anything else?" which was nice =]

Free wifi! Which didn't even work for us in the apartment area, but that was fine.

--PARKING: FREE, but very limited parking! I counted about 22-24? When we arrived, there were no spots left but Bharat was able to call his friend who was parked to move his car!

--BREAKFAST: Free REAL breakfast until 9:30am! You can make your own waffles, which I loved. Eggs, potatoes, hash browns, bacon, sausage, 3 types of cereal, coffee, OJ! Be nice and tip the chef because she was cooking all this food alone! During breakfast is when we discovered that the other hotel guests were from all over the world.

--AREA: All the fun, touristy, Hollywood Blvd stuff is about a mile or two away! After checking out, we left the car to avoid traffic and parking fees. Be sure to come back before the next check-in time @ 3pm. It wasn't that bad of a walk and also shouldn't be too bad of a cab fee.

Overall, I'm very happy with the owner being able to accomodate me when it was my mistake. This place definitely isn't the most glamorous of hotels, but if you need a CLEAN place to sleep and shower in a location near all the Hollywood action for CHEAP.. here you go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hwdinn, General Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Erika, Your thoughtful, detailed and honest review is greatly appreciated!
We certainly look forward to an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was excited about this property after all the positive reviews on here. It was only a 1 night stay, but I figured this was better than a motel by the airport. We arrived late, and the parking in the back was very tight. The lobby is tiny and smells of incents. The person on duty was very friendly. We checked into a room which smelled HEAVILY of paint. It was overbearing. It was close to 1am so I didn't ask for a room change, but I wish i did. I did see a "no vacancy sign" so I figured it would be a waste of time. The room was very clean, but that is it. The tv did not work properly (kept freezing), the sheets were worn through and had a hole, and I cannot get over the smell of the paint, it was awful. The tiny pool in the middle is basically for decoration, i doubt anyone uses it. The breakfast is served 2 doors down in a little restaurant, which was ok. The location is about 20 minutes driving from the Chinese Theater, so not close to anything in particular. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Karolina, We appreciate your candid feedback. We strive to ensure our guests
have a positive experience. We will take into account all of your suggestions/comments.
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#110 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#131 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#70 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Hollywood
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Dunes Inn - Sunset
#102 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Downtowner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Downtowner Inn

Property: Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Address: 5601 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Downtowner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Downtowner Inn is truly the "Chev Vous at the Walkway of the Stars" located minutes from Universal, Paramount, Nickelodeon and Gower studios, Kodak, Mann's Chinese, Egyption, Arclight, El Capitan, Greek, Pantages Theaters. Griffith park with in walking and a great hike to the observatory. Rooms featuring king or two double beds and some efficiency suites as well. Pool and hot breakfast each morning before you get on the various tours that can be arrranged to all attractions and star homes. There is complimentary parking, WiFi, HBO/Cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer, iron with board and in-room coffee in all rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hollywood Downtowner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Downtowner Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Downtowner Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing