We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and not worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Ranked #144 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The only positives I can say about the hotel is that the staff are friendly and the bedding was clean. Everything else about the room was old, shabby and in need of replacing. The room was in need of a good clean as the carpet was filthy. The location, although close to tourist attractions is in a pretty unwelcoming area.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 446 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

EVERY YEAR OR ANY YEAR that i go to Los ANGELES....THIS IS THE ONLY PLACE FOR ME TO STAY..my stay at this place was fabulous...the owner of the place Mr. Bharat Mulji is a gem of a person...he took so good care of us that we could not feel that this place is new to us....Me and my friend stayed there in May 2012 and had a rocking time... our room was fabulous with the possible amenities and comforts...they say it is a budget hotel but that is true only in terms of money..rest everything is class apart...the free breakfast in the morning is a most important feature..its amazing..i would recommend all to be there once...Bharat Bhai.. YOU ROCK...

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous but if available insist on their luxury apartment which is even better..s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHARADKUMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hwdinn, General Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

In gratitude for your wonderful review! We hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I thoroughly recommend staying at this motel. We got a really good rate and were given a room on the 2nd floor with access to a balcony overlooking Hollywood Boulevard, that was a bonus to us as it enabled some good people watching whilst having a coffee. The rooms were comfortable and clean and a good breakfast selection is provided and the staff were friendly. When we were there you had to go a couple of doors down to an old shop for breakfast which was no problem at all. I love the area and don't find it confronting or shady, I mean it IS Hollywood Blvd so it's not really for the faint hearted, but I would definitely stay here again, it's my favourite Hollywood motel. It's walking distance to the subway, there's lots of buses and lots of great cheap restaurants in the area, it's also close to the freeway. It's an interesting walk (checking out the celebrity hand prints) down to Grauman's theatre and other attractions. I love the old stone facade of the place, looks like something out of the '50's. There is a great second hand clothes shop directly over the road with some great bargains to be had. Great value for money.

Room Tip: I would always ask for a room with access to the balcony overlooking Hollywood Boulevard, it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hwdinn, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Downtowner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Your thoughtful review was appreciated. We appreciate your support of our business.
We welcome the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in July 2011, the location is fantastic, close to all turistic attractions, staff very friendly, nice breakfast which is served next door, clean, quite and confortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The room smells, the location is not optimal, no restos in the neighborhood, and the hotel overall is very shabby!
The price is too high for the value you get.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The motel is in a rather dodgy part of town with people who look like they're gonna mug you walking around the carpark (WHICH IS OPEN AND REALLY DARK). The reception area was tiny, probably the size of my bathroom, and had a funny smell to it..

At first, we had gotten a room on the lower floor, next to the pool. The room was noisy, dark, small and smelt of chlorine and mildew. We demanded a room change and were given a room towards the back on level 2. This room was in the middle of renovation with paint patches and holes around the room. There were wood panels missing.. The room had a kitchen which was decent, but looked like it was in the mists of renovation too. The bathroom was nice and clean, but the door looked unstable and worn. The air-con vent which was situated right next to the bed had a pannel missing allowing us to look right into the core of the vent. The vent itself had polystyrene glued inside which was blackened (possibly due to the dust) which I personally felt like they were insect eggs rather than sections of the air-con vent!

We felt so unsafe at night (we saw people who looked like suspicious checking in and lingering around the motel area) that one person in my party tried to barricade the door with a chair at night!

We were suppose to stay for 6 nights, but checked out after the first spending less than 12 hours in the hotel room. It was the WORST accommodation of our entire trip and just felt terrible.

There are better quality hotels around which aren't in such shady areas for the same/similar price!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yapdudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We booked at the downtowner because we were told that it's in walking distance from the walk of fame and the chinese theatre. The only problem is that the neighbourhood is so sketchy that I WOULD NEVER take the 10 minute walk to reach the tourist attractions. The lobby is locked from the inside but the rooms that have all access on the courtyard are separated from the street by a tiny gate that can be opened at anytime by anybody. The breakfast is pretty good (as far as selection goes) but it is prepared in a separate building.
The rooms smell disgusting and the walls are paper-thin. The whole structure of the hotel is made of wood and when someone in the room above yours walks it feels like they are walking right next to you. When we stayed at the hotel we were assigned a room next to a huge group of dancers that were up and partying all night.
The parking is free but we were fearing for our car. There is no gate, no separation from the street. It's just a small parking lot behind a run down motel in a sketchy neighbour hood in the ghettoish part of hollywood.
I won't even start commenting the rooms cause I can't honestly think of anything good. Just trust me, spend those 40 extra dollars and be safe somewhere else.
Also, the beds were not confortable, at all, and I suspect bed bugs. We ran away after 1 night and we were supposed to stay 3.
There was a dead roach in the pool.

Room Tip: I highly doubt there are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElisaS94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#124 of 355 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#122 of 355 in Los Angeles
707 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#57 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,009 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Dunes Inn - Sunset
#98 of 355 in Los Angeles
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Downtowner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Downtowner Inn

Address: 5601 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $108 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Downtowner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Downtowner Inn is truly the "Chev Vous at the Walkway of the Stars" located minutes from Universal, Paramount, Nickelodeon and Gower studios, Kodak, Mann's Chinese, Egyption, Arclight, El Capitan, Greek, Pantages Theaters. Griffith park with in walking and a great hike to the observatory. Rooms featuring king or two double beds and some efficiency suites as well. Pool and hot breakfast each morning before you get on the various tours that can be arrranged to all attractions and star homes. There is complimentary parking, WiFi, HBO/Cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer, iron with board and in-room coffee in all rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hollywood Downtowner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Downtowner Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Downtowner Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing