We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love their food.”
Review of Joe's Falafel

Joe's Falafel
Ranked #566 of 10,091 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Love their food.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have been going to Joe's for about a year and have had almost everything on the menu. Two very big thumbs up. Shwarma, and Gyros, are fantastic. Also, love the lemon chicken. Very reasonably price to boot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    4
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Falafel and Lafa Bread”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Love the chicken kabob sandwich on lafa bread, ok hummus, great falafel. Very reasonable pricing. The lafa and kabobs are cooked fresh with every order.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank d_riddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Joe, you are my gyro!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I saw all of the other great reviews so I decided to give his place a try-it did not disappoint. The laffa gyro I had came with plenty of delicious lamb and beef, and the falafel was crisp and tasty. Joe definitely uses nothing but fresh ingredients and the food is packed with delicious spices. The homemade baklava is some of the best I have ever had. I strongly recommend Joe's Falafel. Simple looking on the outside, but nicely decorated on the inside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank litlmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You MUST go there”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went there on a trip to L.A., based on its good reputation on various review sites. The food has surpassed my expectations. I am from Montreal and I have visited many Middle East restaurants in my city, but Joe's Falafel is easily one of the best I have ever been to.

A few points worth mentionning:

Food: First, all the ingredients used are of high quality. The pita and lafa are freshly cooked, you can TASTE the skilled cooking just with these two items. The rice is smooth and tasty. The hummus is perfectly mixed. The garlic sauce is very unique. Beef Kebab and Kefta are full of flavors. For the health conscious, the food items are low in fat and not greasy at all, unlike other fast food chains. Everything is amazing.

Restaurant: Very clean, apparently already has an A grade rating near the entrance.

Staff: Owner is very friendly and humble, he makes your dinning experience comfortable and cosy, just like you were eating at home. The employees are very polite and together they do some great Middle Eastern cooking.

Food was so good that I had to go twice during my 2 day visit in L.A. Would go again if I went to L.A.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ImpartialConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic deliciousness”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

LOVE Joe's Falafel!!!! If you're into fresh, delicious, authentic Mediterranean cuisine, this is the place for you.

Located on Caheunga in Hollywood (near Universal City Walk), Joe's Falafel is a rare find. Not only is the food out of this world in freshness, authenticity, and flavor, the staff are very respectful, knowledgeable, and friendly.

Joe himself goes out of his way to ensure that his customers feel at home by visiting patrons' table(s) during their meals to ensure they are having a pleasant dining experience. He sincerely cares about his customers' satisfaction and it's a common practice of his to offer extras (free of charge) such as hummus, pita bread (which he makes fresh daily, by the way), or semolina cakes to make their experience even better. He's also a very interesting gentleman to converse with, I highly recommend it to whomever gets the opportunity!

Oh, and the cherry on top.. the decor is beautiful and impeccably clean.

In summary.. Joe's Falafel: A must try!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Falafel also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Falafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing